Skip to content

Meet Fabricworm

November 8, 2008

I want you to meet Fabricworm…or better yet Cynthia, the owner of Fabric Worm.  I’m always browsing around looking for places to buy fabric…it is an addiction.  And, I also love to share with you when I run across a great place.  Cynthia runs such a place.  She has been so helpful in putting together orders for me, answering questions, and helping me get great fabric at a great price.  I highly recommend shopping her etsy site or her newly opened .com.  You won’t be disappointed!!!  Now, get to know Cynthia a little better:

fabricworm1- How did you get into the fabric business?

I have been a self-proclaimed “fabric addict” for the most part of my adult life. In the last few years with the youthful designs and Japanese Imports that are on the market, I became obsessed. When I first came across Etsuko Furuya’s fabric, Echino for Kokka, a couple of years ago, I fell deaply in love and I began researching opening a fabric store. It began as just sort of a lofty dream. And then I came across Etsy. It made so much sense to sell fabric there. I could work from home, not have the overhead of a store and pass those savings on to Crafters’ who can feel like they are getting a price not far off from Wholesale without having to commit to a whole bolt.

2- What is your favorite thing about selling fabric?

My favorite thing about selling fabric is my Customers!! I have the BEST Customers in the Whole World, literally! I adore them. Secondly I love to coordinate fabrics. Right now it’s the only way that I get to use my creativity. I haven’t had time to sew ever since I opened fabriworm. I do LOVE to sew, and I have about 10 million projects in my head that I am dying to get to.

3-Do you sew? if yes, what is your favorite thing to make?

I do sew all though it’s been awhile. I can’t really pick a favorite thing. I love to sew everything!

4- What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever sewn?

The hardest thing I have ever sewn was my wedding dress without a pattern. I had this vision and of course there were no patterns to accommodate my design. My husband’s Grandparents are Japanese and I wanted to include this aspect of his culture as much as possible, in my dress I was able to mesh a traditional wedding dress with some Japanese aspects. Maybe I can dig up a photo for this blog entry.

5- Do you have a favorite designer or collection of fabric? If yes, who or what?

Wow, this was really difficult. I guess I would have to say Etsuko Furuya. She is a Momma too, and I adore her youthful designs! I Love Heather Bailey and Heather Ross also. but Etsuko would have to be my FAVE. With two little boys I was so excited to see Ni-co her most recent line. Finally some Hip Prints for Boys, with Cars, Scooters, and Planes!

6- Tell us a little bit about yourself and your business.

I’m 33 Years old, I’m married to a wonderful man, Jason. We’ve been married for 6.5 years and have 2 Adorable little boys, Anderson, (almost 4) and Keaton. (8 months) We live on The Central Coast of California in the Wine Country. Jason, A Graphic and Mulit-Media Designer, is also highly creative. It’s great to have 2 Creative minds in the same household. Just watch, our boys will probably be scientists!

Etsy inspired me to sell fabric online, because I LOVE the concept. I still can’t believe sometimes that something so wonderful exists. It’s no wonder that Etsy has become hugely popular! My Mother was a WAHM (Work at home mom) Crafting for extra money. She was part of the original “Handmade Nation”. Making dough ornaments and Wood Cut Folk Art, that she sold at Craft Fairs and Craft Parties, hosted at our own home. When I used to stay up late and slave over my sewing machine, I was reminded of my Mom working hard at her desk with her Epoxy Glue and tiny paint brushes, while the rest of the family was glued to the TV. And somehow she still found time away from her busy schedule as Mom and Crafter to make beautiful matching dresses for myself and my Mandy and Jenny Dolls. Although these are hard times for our families economically I am so excited to see so many people getting back to hand made crafts! It warms my heart to know that another generation of Crafters have born, and we will continue to pass this along, from Generation to Generation!

7- Do you have any special offers or sales at the moment?

Stay tuned. I’m getting ready to mark down some major designers in order to reduce inventory and make room for lots of new, exciting stuff! Keep on the look-out for new Anna Maria Horner Good Folks being released in January!

8- Where do you hope to take your business in the future?

I have recently opened www.fabricworm.com

My online store is slow getting going. My Etsy store has kept me so busy, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to market it. I do hope to spend more time on it after the New Year. I plan on selling some fun Gifts and Accessories as well as Fabric and patterns. Maybe some craft supplies, like purse handles and zipper charms. I’m considering selling yarn as well!

I still have dreams of opening a fabric store. The personal relationship that I’ve established with my Etsy customers has been absolutely Wonderful, but I would also love the opportunity to meet my customers in person. I love talking shop with fellow crafters and helping in any way I can. Jason keeps saying that I need to pull the reigns and focus on one thing at a time, but that’s just not my personality. I can barely sleep at night I am so excited about Fabricworm and all the possibilities. If you haven’t seen it yet, there’s a new Company out there, Spoonflower, that will print your fabric designs for you. I am extremely excited about this and in the future hope to print my own designs with Spoonflower and offer them for sale on Etsy as well.

 

I just wanted to say thank you, Cynthia for doing this interview.  It was great getting to know the woman behind the store!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2008 10:38 pm

    Hello WonderMommy!! Thank you for posting the interview with my daughter. She’s a phenominal gal and mommy too. Her passion for fabric is addicting. I love her ability to put different fabric designers together in fabulous quilt packs. I should also mention – my husband & I are also Southern Baptists. Have fun with your own fabric creations!

  2. November 17, 2008 7:34 am

    What a nice person Cynthia is! I recently bought fabric from her Etsy store and she was so great and helpful. The parcel arrived so fast that I mailed her and asked what postage option she used! I could not believe it. Great store with a fantastic selection. I look forward to see what she does next!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

