Skip to content

Pacifiers

January 20, 2008

I know there are a lot of differing opinions on pacifiers out there.  I’ve never been big on older children with them in their mouths.  That is why I’m totally surprised that my second child still walks around with one in her little two-year-old mouth. 

 I took my son’s away at one year.  I was very strict that I was going to do this.  I decided early on that I would use a pacifier, but I would make sure that he was never old enough to talk sentences around one.  He went to sleep one night with a pacy in his mouth, and he awoke the next morning to a pacy free life.

Now, I have to ask myself how did I get to the point that my daughter is 2 and still sucking on one of those things.  First, she is the second child.  Everything is more relaxed with a second child.  I wasn’t so dead set on all of those parenting “rules”.  Second, her dad has been away for work a lot of the last couple of years.  I’ve just been so tired that I let it slide.  Third, she is a lot more attached to the pacy than her brother.  She has to have it; he was just attached to a stuffed animal and blanket. 

Now that I’ve made excuses, I need to get that darn thing away from her.  I’ve thought about going cold turkey.  I really do think this is the best way to go.  Just end the whole thing all at once.  The only problem is the ensuing conniption for the next few days.

My next option is the give it to her only at bed time.  This will allow her to sleep better at night, and I’ll only have to put up with the fits during the day. 

The third option is to let her have it less and less each day.  This will take the entire process a lot longer, but the fits will be endurable. 

 I’m really leaning toward the cold turkey option.  I really think the clean break is the best thing.  The only “real” problem that I will face is finding the stashes all over the house.  She has a million of these things.  It’ll probably take a few days to just round them all up.  She’ll find a way to always have one on hand. 

 I’m still in the contemplating stage.  I’m really tired of these things, and it is way past due.  If I can overcome this, it’ll be time to move on to potty-training.  Wish me luck, I’ll need it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ksess permalink
    January 21, 2008 5:21 pm

    I’ve seen both options. With the girl twins their mother did the just at night option, but it was still a problem to ween off of that later. I think it might be best to go cold turkey.

  2. January 22, 2008 12:59 pm

    It’s always easier than you imagine. At least in my experience. just decide you’re ready and the kids will follow. I started gathering them up as we found them, and eventually they were all gone. They didn’t notice as much as I thought they would. And our third child won’t take one – to my dismay!

Leave a Reply

