Skip to content

Getting Rid of the Old…

January 29, 2008

bringing in the new.  How is it that I still have the same cheap kitchen utensils that I had when I got married 11 years ago? They were never meant to be a permanent fixture.  They came in a bag at Wal-Mart for a couple of bucks.  They are beige and stained from years of use.  I just hate them every time that I pull one out of the drawer. 

Today, I decided enough was enough.  It was time to replace them.  I bought a nice dark grey set from Target.  I also picked up a new colander, stainless.  My plastic one was melted on one side about 4 years ago, and I still have it in the cabinet.  I also got a small cheese grater.  That is something that I’ve wanted for sometime, but just never picked up. 

 I have to remember from now on that there is a life to certain items.  I shouldn’t hold on to things when they really just need to be laid to rest.  These old beige kitchen utensils have served their purpose, now they need to go the way of all things.  There time has come and went. 

I have started this venture of replacing the extremely old items in our house a little at a time.  Last month, I replaced the 11 year old toaster that really didn’t toast anymore.  They new four slice stainless model is working extremely well and really makes my mornings a little happier.

Now, I need to look through all of my old towels and replace the ones that I took to college with me.  They really don’t even dry the water from my body anymore. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

