Skip to content

Vida Bird Dress

February 5, 2008

whimdress1.jpgI finally finished this dress that I’ve been working on for two weeks. It wasn’t a difficult pattern. I just had to tend to house and kids. I decided last night that I needed to finish this dress and move on. I have Valentine’s things that I need to get done in the next couple of days.

I really like how the dress turned out. I wish I would have made it in October because the fabric is perfect for Fall. I used the On a Whim fabric by Amy Schimler for Robert Kaufman. I love the little birds. They are adorable. My daughter was in love with the dress. She was running around screaming, “It’s Christmas!” I’ll take that as toddler absolute love.

I used the Vida pattern by Farbenmix. The pattern was very easy to follow and the dress pretty simple to make. I will be making more of these. The possiblities of fabric mixes and adding trim are endless. This was my first try at this pattern, so I kept it simple. I still need to add the elastic under the arms, but haven’t been able to find time since last night’s finishing to do so. Other than that, it is complete.

Now, for the next few days I will be up late finishing a sweet little girl’s Valentine’s outfit and a couple of other Valentine’s goodies.

whimdress4.jpg
whimdress5.jpg
One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2008 7:54 pm

    That is the most adorable dress! I lOVE the fabric choices too! I’ve been on the look out for a great pattern like that one! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

