Skip to content

Word Out Wednesday

February 13, 2008

bonnet1.jpg

bonnet2.jpgAmy Karol is the owner of the Angry Chicken blog. She has also written a book, Bend the Rules Sewing. I love visiting her blog. She always has some beautiful craft or project to share. I have had this pattern for a couple of months, always wanting to use it and never finding the time. Well, I finally found the time and I’m glad that I did. The pattern is super simple. This would be a great project for a beginner. The pattern is easy to follow and the bonnet is easy to make.

This pattern also has so much potential. There are so many ways to tweak it to make different bonnet styles and use different embellishments. Amy has also posted a pic on her blog using this pattern without the brim. This yielded a very cute result.

I used a winter white baby cord for the outside, and a really cute apple flannel for the inside.  The flannel makes the bonnet yummy and warm.  I used a hot pink satin ribbon for the tie and a multi gross grained ribbon for the embellishment.  I don’t usually mix satin and gross grain, but it works on this bonnet for some reason.  Look closely at the sneak peak of the scarf that I made for my daughter.  I’m going to post a tutorial for it really soon!

You can find this pattern by going to Kingpod, the site where Amy’s patterns are available. Click on shop. Then, click on bonnet pattern. It is that simple. This pattern is well worth the money. I think these bonnets will make great baby and toddler gifts. I have a couple that I’m working on to send to a couple of new mommies. My daughter loved the bonnet when I put it on her. We also received a large number of compliments when she wore it out. This is a great pattern and a great buy.

bonnet3.jpg

 

bonnet4.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 13, 2008 12:26 pm

    That bonnett is adorable! I love that apple fabric too!
    I’ve been wanting to buy Bend the Rules Sewing for a while now….Maybe i’ll get it for myself for
    Valentines day?!?!

Leave a Reply

