Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2008

heartstring.jpg loveheart.jpg

I only have a couple of things to share today because the kids and I are waiting to have our celebration tomorrow.  My son is exchanging cards at school tomorrow, so I thought that would be the best day to celebrate.  So, check back tomorrow for more Valentine’s shots.

Last night, I made a last minute project.  I’ve been thinking about this for about a week now, but just found time last night. I was inspired by all of the beautiful heart sachets that I’ve been seeing lately.  I knew that I wanted to incorporate my children into the project.  I knew that I wanted the project to be scrappy. But, I didn’t really put much thought into it. I was inspired by Denise Schmidt’s interview at the Sew Mama Sew blog. I wanted to sew without putting too much concern or thought into it.  So,  I just did it.  I didn’t think it through, completely.  I cut and I stitched without thinking it completely through to the end.  It was liberating. I think the results turned out pretty good.  I did make the strings between the hearts a little long, but I think tying them into a bow in the middle is actually quite cute. 

I incorporated my children by using printable fabric that I picked up for another project at Jo-Ann’s.  I printed Love is… and each of my children’s names.  My son’s is on the middle heart and my daughters on the bottom heart.  I, then, cut out one big heart and two smaller hearts of the same size (actually, I cut two pieces to make each heart).  I could have made the third one smaller, but I didn’t want a “my heart is bigger” competition.  I used pinking shears and cut out the words into three different pieces.  Next, I stitched “Love is…” to the big heart and the names one each to the other hearts.  I just used a straight stitch and pink thread and went around the pinked words in a rectangle. 

Now, it was time to sew the hearts together.  I found a piece of red ribbon with “love” printed all over it. I sandwiched this ribbon in between the two pieces of heart that were placed right sides facing.  I also had to stick a piece of connecting ribbon at the bottom of the heart.  The first heart was easy, but you have to make sure you leave a turning hole big enough to stuff the heart. 

cheart.jpg

When you connect the second heart, you have to place a connector ribbon at the bottom.  This is just like the first heart.  The tricky part is connecting the ribbon that is sewn to the first heart.  You have to sandwich this ribbon at the top of the second heart in between the two heart pieces, right sides together.  Make sure that when the heart is turned to the right side that it will hang with the name facing forward.  You also have to make sure that this ribbon is left hanging out of the turning hole.  That way when you turn the heart right side out, the ribbon will be hanging freely from the top of the second heart. 

sheart.jpg

On the third heart, you make it the same way as the second, but there is no connector ribbon at the bottom to worry about.  After the hearts are all stitched, simply fill them with fiberfill and sew up the turning hole.  Then, hang your heart creation anywhere you like. 

I really wasn’t intending for this to be a crude tutorial, but how could I share it without some tips on making it.  I also wanted to say that I didn’t add anything to make them smell nice.  This would have been a nice touch, but I didn’t have anything to put in there when I was making this late last night.  Oh yeah, I used three different pieces of fabric for the hearts.  This is a good use of leftover Valentine’s fabric from other projects.  I will say that no matter how careful you are, there will probably always be one heart that doesn’t want to face forward.  My daughter’s heart like to hang backwards. 

The other picture that I have to share is of the gifts that I got this morning.  My husband is away overseas, but he always manages to make sure that I have presents waiting. He really is the most wonderful man in the world and has been for eleven years.  He also conspired with my four year old to get me heart ear rings.  My son insisted that I needed them to make me pretty.  He is such a sweet and thoughtful boy.  But, despite the wonderful presents, I would much rather have him here with me.  I only have a couple more months and he will be home for a long, long time.

vday1.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 14, 2008 2:20 pm

    Those hearts are adorable!

    Listen, you want to borrow my DH?…he’s driving me nuts…LOL!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

