Skip to content

Yucky Outside

February 22, 2008

The phone rang at 5:30 am to tell me that my son’s school had cancelled classes for the day.  I really wish they had waited at least an hour longer to tell me.  This woke my daughter, but she just played quietly.  Luckily, my son slept through the whole thing. 

When we got up, we realized everything is locked in a big cube of ice.  The puppy was frozen as she went outside to do her business.  I was not much better.  It felt good to walk back inside and thaw out. 

The Little Gym called later to let me know that my daughter’s gymnastics class was cancelled.  This also put a hold on Friday’s mother/daughter lunch. 

I really hate the ice.  What fun is this kind of weather, if you can’t even play in the snow?!?!?!  I guess I should just be glad that I have plenty of food stocks, we still have power, and I’ll have a day of crafting.  The kids will probably be stir crazy by about 1pm.  I just hope that I can keep them occupied the rest of the day.  I would use cleaning as a way to keep their attention, but we did a major clean yesterday and their rooms are spotless.  Maybe, we’ll dance for a couple of hours, again.

I just thank goodness that we have actually had a mild winter this year.  We are about 8 inches behind in the snow count.  I hope it continues to be mild.  A week ago it was almost 70 outside, so returning to real winter weather is quite a shock. 

Hopefully, I’ll have several new projects to share after we thaw out of this ice block.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2008 9:44 am

    Should be an exciting day! It is sunny here today….but all (except one) of my kids are home with colds! They may drive me crazy today…..I’m already close!

  2. emadethis permalink
    February 22, 2008 12:21 pm

    I hate ice too. But it’s kind of fun to be stuck inside some days. I hope you get a lot of fun things done. Thanks for the book idea. I’m always looking for good children’s books for my nephew and for our future kids. 😉

  3. franticallysimple permalink
    February 22, 2008 7:47 pm

    Oh my goodness, you must be in Maryland because I am having the exact same weather!

Leave a Reply

