Skip to content

Party Time!!!

March 7, 2008

Ultimate Blog Party 2008

 

Welcome to the Party at Wondermommy’s!

blogpartychalk.jpg

bannerflags2.jpg

First, let me introduce myself. My name is Mellissa. I’m a Stay-At-Home Mom. I have two children, a boy(4) and a girl(2). They are the center of my universe, and the reason that I do all that I do. I love staying at home, though it can be a little trying at times. But, it is also a necessity in my case. My husband has to be away for work a great deal; he is defending our freedom. We are very proud of him, but miss him greatly.

I love to craft. This is my favorite way to pass the time, and to try to keep a little sanity while living in a kid’s world. Sewing and crocheting are my favorites, but I will try anything once. My crafting is usually centered around my kids, but I do branch out. I’m also trying to get items together to sell.

Crafting is not my only hobby. I also love to read. It isn’t easy finding time to read. It is usually loud in this house, but when the children go to bed…I like to read. Some of my favorite books are: Snow Crash, The Ezekiel Option, Glory Road, Nightfall, and When Gravity Fails. I love Sci-Fi, especially Cyberpunk.

I also love to watch Television and Movies. I’m in love with old TV shows like: I Love Lucy, Leave It to Beaver, and The Munsters. I do watch current television and among my favorites are: Ghost Hunters, House, Dirty Jobs, and Project Runway. I love movies old and new, too. My favorite movies include: The Quiet Man, North by Northwest, Quigley Down Under, and Snatch.

Now, to dig into my past. I was raised by a Southern Baptist preacher. I’m still a Southern Baptist. God is the most important thing in my life. I believe Jesus is the risen savior. I’m raising my children to love Christ. This is very important to me.

I grew up in a very small town. My grandfather owned a tire shop there. He was known by everyone. The entire time I was in high school all I could do was think of leaving that place, and now, all I want to do is go back. I feel like Scarlet O’Hara. Tara was in her blood. My hometown is in my blood. All of my family live there, and that makes it all the more special.

I did leave that town, though. I went to the University of Alabama…Roll Tide Roll! That is where I met my wonderful husband. He is the love of my life. We have traveled a great deal since. We have lived in California, North Carolina, Alabama, South Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia. Tuscaloosa is the only place other than my hometown that has felt like home.

Now, enough about me, let’s get to partying!!!

partyhats.jpg

bannerflags2.jpg

Wondermommy is celebrating National Crochet Month for March! Here’s a free super simple crochet scarf pattern, enjoy!

scarves.jpg

Super Simple Crocheted Scarf

smallscarf.jpg

Experience Required: Beginner

Materials: 1 ball of yarn (This is what my versions needed.
You may need more or less depending on how wide and long
you make your scarf.), crochet hook (I used size I; the size
you choose will be based on the yarn that you choose.)

Note: This scarf is highly customizable. You may make your
scarf as wide as you wish and as long as you wish. Most of
mine are skinny scarves, but you could make yours wide like
a traditional scarf. You can pick any type of yarn that you
wish. They all work equally as well. Feel free to experiment
and try whatever you like with this pattern.

Note2: I’m going to give you the numbers that I used to
make the pink and white scarf for my daughter. She is 2
years old, but this pattern can easily be adjusted for any
size. These numbers may be different depending on the choices
of width, length, and yarn that you have made.

Instructions:

Chain 14

Half double crochet in third chain from hook and in each
chain across.

Chain 2

Turn

Half double crochet in each stitch across.

(Chain 2, Turn, Half double crochet in each stitch across.) Repeat until
scarf reaches the desired length. My scarf was 62 inches long. I
wanted to be able to hang it doubled over and through a loop on my
daughter.

Finish off and weave in the ends of yarn.

2008 Copyright Mellissa – Wondermommy
For at-home use only. This pattern and items made from it are not to be sold.

Click here for the pdf version: scarftutorial1.pdf

bannerflags2.jpg

Now, it is time for pictures from our party!!! There is no better way to party with kids than to go outside in the warm weather and play. We put on our party hats, blew bubbles, drew with sidewalk chalk, and road all of our vehicles. It was a blast! Now, go out and have yourself a good time, but don’t forget to visit more blogs!

 

img_5825.jpgimg_5838.jpgimg_5866.jpg

img_5889.jpgimg_5894.jpgimg_5931.jpgimg_5960.jpg

img_5942.jpgimg_5937.jpgimg_5810.jpg

 

bannerflags2.jpg

Thanks for stopping by the Wondermommy Party!!!

We enjoyed having you. Please, stop by and check out more of our National Crochet Month celebration throughout the month of March. There will also be other craft goodies going on for Easter. It was a pleasure having you stop by!Β  I’ll leave you with a video of one of my favorite songs, enjoy!

 

 

bannerflags2.jpg

 

134 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2008 1:52 pm

    Hi Melissa,

    I love your “blog party” header – how great is that? – we have a lot of fun with chalk at our house, too. My grandmother taught me how to crochet but, sadly, I haven’t picked it up in a long time. After reading your party post, I feel inspired again.

    Thanks for having us and please enjoy the rest of your week!

  2. March 7, 2008 1:55 pm

    W00t! The Blog Party is on! It’s great to get to know you. Happy Blog Party!

    Visit my party at http://usr-bin-mom.com. I’m celebrating my 8th blogging anniversary and having a giveaway.

  3. March 7, 2008 1:58 pm

    Love your post! I used to live in AL, but just can’t jump on the Roll Tide wagon…living in Atlanta, it’s just too hard! πŸ˜‰

    But I’m with you, I’ve lived in 5 states since I’ve been married and am SO happy to be back in my hometown!

  4. March 7, 2008 2:00 pm

    Your work is beautiful!

    Happy Blog partying! πŸ™‚

    (love that song too.)

  5. March 7, 2008 2:04 pm

    Fun! I have no idea how to use yarn (well, I can tie knots….). Oh well.

    I have a 4 yo boy and 2 yo girl as well! πŸ™‚

  6. March 7, 2008 2:14 pm

    Great party post! I love your hats and banners! And your pics are soo cute!

    Hop on over to mine!

  7. March 7, 2008 2:22 pm

    looks like there is an AWESOME party going on here!

    thanks for the scarf idea and how-to =)

    happy partying to you!

    stop by mine anytime: http://thisfamilydevine.blogspot.com

  8. March 7, 2008 2:49 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your site. It’s so pretty. I wish I could crochet…I tried once. Didn’t do so well. Maybe I’ll have to give it another shot!

  9. March 7, 2008 3:08 pm

    Great party post!! I am also a Southern Baptist and DH is away a lot while serving in the military.

  10. March 7, 2008 3:20 pm

    Great party and pictures! Thanks for stopping by! Crocheting is my next goal. I just learned knitting so I want to get a few things made with that first.

    Have a wonderful weekend. Hope you feel better!

  11. March 7, 2008 3:22 pm

    Hi there, and nice party you have going on here! Love your designs, although I am not much of a crochet person myself. πŸ™‚

  12. March 7, 2008 3:33 pm

    Great party!!
    I will have to visit you again.

  13. March 7, 2008 4:27 pm

    I’m a PK, too… my dad is a Methodist minister… πŸ™‚

  14. March 7, 2008 4:46 pm

    Gorgeous blog! I am a christian too. It is awesome to meet others on the blogosphere! Have fun partying1

  15. snpnmnmi permalink
    March 7, 2008 4:48 pm

    What a nice site! Love the sidewalk chalk. If I didn’t consider this party my little time for me, I’d get my children in on the act too!
    Your crochet pattern reminds me that I’ve been wanting to post a tutorial for letterboxing… maybe I’ll get aorund to that before the party’s over.
    Party on!
    Tammy :):):)

  16. March 7, 2008 4:59 pm

    wow! great party!

    thanks for stopping by mine as well!!!! loved the song!

  17. March 7, 2008 5:06 pm

    Great hoppin’ by your blog.
    Happy UB partyin’!
    Pls stop by Hip Mama’s Place some time, we have lots of fun mom and baby giveways goin’ on right now. Hope to see you there! πŸ™‚

  18. March 7, 2008 5:17 pm

    Thanks for stopping by our house for the party! We lived in VA too so I wonder where you are? Happy week!

  19. March 7, 2008 5:19 pm

    Thank you for stopping by for the party! Have a great time partying!

  20. March 7, 2008 5:29 pm

    Oh…I wish I really was at your home for the blog party:) Looks much warmer then at my house!! I wish I could crochet because the scarves are adorable.

  21. March 7, 2008 5:49 pm

    We’ve lived in some of the same places! Virginia, Alabama and California. Love your Blog Party Chalk drawing! Stop by and say hello!

  22. March 7, 2008 5:49 pm

    Looks like y’all are havin’ a great party. Love the sidewalk chalk!! So good to “meet” you! Have a good time! : )

  23. March 7, 2008 6:15 pm

    Great blog! I see that you have some of the same blogs that I do, on your blogroll! COOL!

    Come and check out our party, with nine giveaways!
    http://www.thedowntownboutique.blogspot.com

    Angie

  24. March 7, 2008 6:19 pm

    I like to crochet too, although I’m not great at it. Thanks for the pattern, I’ve bookmarked this post so I can try it out sometime. I’m also a SAHM to 2 little cuties. Come visit my party if you get a chance! πŸ™‚

  25. March 7, 2008 6:41 pm

    What a fun blog party post! I really look up to military wives, especially mothers. I do not think I could live without my husband home every night. It would have to be a struggle. You have my prayers.

    Thanks for stopping by my party. :~)

  26. Ellen permalink
    March 7, 2008 6:46 pm

    Oh I do love that song. It makes me get my praise on! Your blog is lovely and your crafting skills are wonderful. Happy partying…

  27. March 7, 2008 6:48 pm

    So very nice to meet you Melissa! I love your party post and I was just listening to that song a few minutes ago (Mercy Me is the artist of the moment though). Thank you so much for stopping by earlier! I look forward to bumping into you at more party stops along the way!

    Blessings,
    Shera

  28. March 7, 2008 7:49 pm

    Great party !! Don’t know why, but the video didn’t work for me …

    My party is happening HERE

  29. March 7, 2008 7:57 pm

    There’s my Erin up yonder there! Hiiiii Erin! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog ~ I really appreciate it. I love meeting new friends πŸ™‚

    And thank you for having me here. Love your bright pretty blog and love your artsy work even more! I know I can crochet but I just don’t seem to have time for it. Are you on etsy by any chance? πŸ™‚

  30. March 7, 2008 8:39 pm

    Great party! Nice to get to know you. I love Dirty Jobs and House too!

  31. March 7, 2008 8:41 pm

    I enjoyed your party-I also crochet! I’m not great but I enjoy it a lot. When you get a chance stop on by.

  32. March 7, 2008 8:41 pm

    i love that! you are a crafty one. the chalk art is genius. soooo cool!

  33. March 7, 2008 9:17 pm

    Nice to meet you Melissa! I am also from a small town and miss it very much too! My husband’s father is an American Baptist preacher! Have fun partying!

  34. March 7, 2008 9:27 pm

    I love your party post! The pictures are too cute. πŸ™‚

  35. acupofjoy permalink
    March 7, 2008 9:41 pm

    Thanks for the scarf pattern. I’ll be using that! I love that song! I shared it on my blog, A Cup of Joy, not long ago…it’s so uplifting!

    Join me at my parties!

    Win a handmade pocket place mat:
    http://comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    Win Chocolates:
    http://thechocolistas.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    Visit me at A Cup of Joy for Missions Month:
    http://acupofjoy.wordpress.com/

  36. March 7, 2008 9:58 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I love your beautiful crocheting!

    I had an aunt that made us all new blankets as newborns and it meant so much to me. When my children came along that aunt was no longer with us so my children have crocheted blankets from my Godmother and a friends mother.

    So beautiful!

  37. March 7, 2008 10:01 pm

    ok, i would really love to try that scarf.
    i sew and a billion other crafts (there’s an earrings giveaway on my blog if ya fancy hopping over) but my mum knits and crochets so well it’s never been necessary for me to learn.
    i do fancy adding another string to my bow after seeing that cute scarf, i think i’ll have to try the pdf version, or sit down with one of my crochet-y friends and get the IRL tutorial lol!
    happy partying
    mwah X

  38. Jennifer P. permalink
    March 7, 2008 10:08 pm

    I like your scarves–I like crocheting too, but sewing is my favorite! Not that I have much time with 4 little ones… : )

  39. March 7, 2008 10:09 pm

    Awesome party!!! Love the photos of the kids:)

  40. taradawn permalink
    March 7, 2008 10:22 pm

    Happy blog party! I’m totally jealous of your lack of snow!

  41. March 7, 2008 10:31 pm

    What a fun post! Thanks for stopping by my “party”. Aside from that first year of twin parenthood, I often feel like it must be harder to have kids close in age, like you, than twins since your two are doing different things, have different needs, etc. While my two are doing the same activities, eating the same stuff, going through the same phases. Of course, your sister may disagree…. πŸ™‚

  42. March 7, 2008 10:47 pm

    Loved your post, but I am sorry to have to say this……

    “War Eagle”

    πŸ™‚

  43. March 7, 2008 10:49 pm

    Loving the blog party!

    Check out my blog when you get the chance. πŸ™‚

  44. March 7, 2008 11:04 pm

    What fun! Great party going on here! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I will definitely have to come back and visit again here. πŸ™‚

  45. March 7, 2008 11:06 pm

    So nice to meet you! I was raised Southern Baptist, too, and love the Lord.

    Enjoy the party!

  46. March 7, 2008 11:57 pm

    Hi, I love your site. Great pictures of the kids partying.

    Have a happy blog party!!

  47. picklebums permalink
    March 8, 2008 1:20 am

    Oh I love the chalk art… and my girls went mad over your flag lines… now I am being told I have to ‘help me sew some princess flags like them’!
    Party on Blogging Mamma!

  48. March 8, 2008 1:33 am

    Great site! And I love that song. Enjoyed the visit.

  49. March 8, 2008 1:54 am

    Great post! I so enjoyed my visit!!

  50. March 8, 2008 2:16 am

    I’m so glad you dropped by today because it was such fun coming here and meeting you!
    We have some things in common! One of my all-time favorite movie is The Quiet Man…I have a tradition of watching it every St. Patrick’s Day! (Which is very soon!) Love old classic tv shows (and movies) and I Love Lucy is one of our favs here.

    Where I differ is that I’m not too crafty. But I do admire people who are! However, my eight year old and I are both beginning knitters and were just practicing tonight, in fact! πŸ™‚

    Love the adorable pics of your kids enjoying the “party”!
    Hope you’ll stop by again sometime…I’ve bookmarked you!

    Blessings,
    ~Tammy @ Family Doin’s
    http://familydoins.blogspot.com/

  51. March 8, 2008 2:25 am

    awesome post and cute pictures~ nice to meet you πŸ™‚

  52. Melissa permalink
    March 8, 2008 9:09 am

    Thanks for being part of the blog party! I’m glad I stopped by. πŸ™‚

  53. March 8, 2008 9:22 am

    Woo! Love this post! How cool of you to share a crochet design. I’ve never been able to pick it up. Maybe I’ll give it another shot with your help!

    Are you feeling better today?

  54. March 8, 2008 9:31 am

    Hi there… I’m here for the party. I too am from a very small town and miss it greatly. I have two kids and love to crochet as well. Stop by and visit me at Shane Shares or http://www.adhdguide.blogspot.com when you can. Happy partying. πŸ™‚

  55. Jennifer Barr permalink
    March 8, 2008 9:32 am

    Your crochet scarfs are really nice πŸ™‚

  56. March 8, 2008 10:39 am

    Mellissa, your blog oozes creativity. I love it! You are so talented. It’s nice to meet you!

  57. March 8, 2008 10:39 am

    Hello Wondermommy! I love your name.
    What a creative party you have going here!
    I love the chalk art so tell your children that!

    I love Leave It to Beaver also. I have my very own little “Beaver” and he has an older sister who sounds a lot like and makes faces like “Judy”, remember her on the show? LOL

    I had a wonderful time and hope you can make it to my party also.

  58. March 8, 2008 12:08 pm

    What a fun party you’re having! I enjoy crocheting, but I can’t do much, courtesy of carpal tunnel. I’m also big on the old tv series – they’re so much fun. I love the way you did the chalk art and all the cute little banner divider! Thanks so much for dropping by my place. πŸ˜€

  59. March 8, 2008 12:33 pm

    What a great party you’re having here! It was so nice to “meet” you.
    Our Happy Happenings
    Livin’ With Me

  60. March 8, 2008 12:52 pm

    great site…love the crochet tips.

  61. March 8, 2008 2:14 pm

    Just stopping by to give you some bloggy love! I’m just getting into sewing so hopefully I can make some cute creations for my dd also. Love your blog!

  62. March 8, 2008 4:49 pm

    Beautiful! I would love to learn. I could get away from this keyboard for a while. LOL – And who doesn’t love sidewalk chalk? Great post. Thanks for stopping by.

  63. March 8, 2008 5:08 pm

    Melissa,

    Girl you know how to throw a great party…must be the southerner in you! Ha! I loved that here is another super cool MELISSA and other than your affection for Roll Tide (WAR EAGLE in our house) I think you are “practically perfect in every way”. Ha! DH & I are baptist pastors (both retired but not as in the typical elderly retired) that God has called to move on to more outside the church walls ministry. I absolutely LOVE that song too…one of my all time favs!

    It is SO GREAT to meet you! Stop by some time if you have a few minutes…
    Mel’s World with Melissa Mashburn

  64. March 8, 2008 5:23 pm

    Loving your site. You are very creative. I’m enjoying your party. Stop by and leave a comment for an opportunity to win two Bible studies. I’ll be back. Blessings, alene

  65. March 8, 2008 5:33 pm

    Sounds like we have a couple of things in common. I’m Southern, from Mississippi to be exact. I live in a small town, though not the one I grew up in, but pretty darn close and only 10 minutes away. And, I am Southern Baptist. I am Baptist born and Baptist bred and when I die I guess I’ll be Baptist dead. I hope you can stop by my blog, Life from My Laptop. Have a great party!

  66. March 8, 2008 6:15 pm

    What a fun party post. πŸ™‚ I love the pictures. I’m slowly teaching myself how to crochet. And I love Jesus, too. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for visiting a dash of sassitude. πŸ™‚

  67. March 8, 2008 6:32 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I love to read, too, and my DH is reading (and enjoying) Ezekiel Option!

  68. March 8, 2008 7:07 pm

    your kid pictures are super cute. love the style.

  69. March 8, 2008 7:53 pm

    I love your site…I love to craft..and I am a Christian mother of 3 precious blessings…God is good…Enjoyed your Blog Party!!

  70. Michelle permalink
    March 8, 2008 8:09 pm

    Thanks for sharing the crochet pattern. Love the pictures of the party. πŸ™‚

  71. March 8, 2008 8:24 pm

    i’m jayedee from sunny central florida! nicetameetcha! party on dudette!lol and if you like chickens (and what woman doesn’t like chickens?) stop by the lost world and check out the awesome giveaway i have going!

  72. March 8, 2008 9:13 pm

    I love your party pictures!
    It was great to party at your place!

  73. March 8, 2008 10:38 pm

    Great Party. Just wanted to say hey. Have fun partying! I used to crochet and just can’t find time for it now. The scarf was beautiful.
    Christy
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/sharpcrew

  74. March 8, 2008 10:56 pm

    great blog…best wishes for your hubby…we thank him for protecting our country.

    Stay POSH…

    G2G…posh

  75. March 8, 2008 11:06 pm

    First off bless your husband for defending out country! We are all so thankful for that! Second- What a wonderful party! Loved all your extras! I am new to the blog party this year. It has been a blast so far. Hope to see you on the party circuit!

  76. Cindi Hoppes permalink
    March 8, 2008 11:22 pm

    Hi, Fantastic site and it looks like a party! Your scarves are gorgeous. Thanks,Cindi

  77. March 8, 2008 11:34 pm

    Cool. I hope your husband reamins SAFE AT WAR. I too love to craft and have just recently begun quilting. I have great friends to which I seek support in my new hobby.

    Have a great party.

  78. March 8, 2008 11:59 pm

    Wow! How crafty you are! Love the chalk idea and your cute dividers. Enjoyed your photos also. I’m having a love affair with a digital Canon 40D …. and soooo want to buy it with some tax refund money we got. It is so hard to be good! 😦

  79. March 9, 2008 12:05 am

    I just popped by for the party! I really enjoyed your post…you are such a fun Mommy with your party. The flu has made me not such a fun Mommy this past week, but you’ve got me motivated!

  80. March 9, 2008 6:26 am

    Wow what a fantastic blogging party you have hosted for us all. Your craft is beautiful and your love for your children and husband is really infectious too. It makes me think about how much I love my 2 kids and my husband too.

    take care
    Fiona
    ps stop by my blog anytime.

  81. Susan Chester permalink
    March 9, 2008 8:44 am

    I like all those old shows too! I watch Leave it to Beaver, Andy Griffith, and I Love Lucy all the time. My family just doesn’t get the appeal.I enjoyed reading about you.

  82. March 9, 2008 10:39 am

    Omigosh, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone who shares my movie love of both Quigley and Snatch! What are the odds? Thanks for letting me party at your place for awhile, I enjoyed it thoroughly, and will be back! I can relate to many of the things I read here πŸ™‚

    If you want to party at my place, you can head on over and find it here!

  83. March 9, 2008 11:49 am

    Hey wondermommy, thanks for stopping by my party!! You have quite a party going on here, yourself!

    I love crochet – I’ve been doing it since I was 9 πŸ™‚ We did a dance with that Nicole C. Mullen song once a few years ago for Easter, and the words still move me today.

  84. March 9, 2008 11:50 am

    i love to crochet too! but unfortunately i end up spending most of the day cleaning up after my 5 little piggies ( oops, i mean kiddos;). i love sci-fi too…but more the scary sci-fi.
    love the blog and i plan on coming back!

    god bless your husband for the work he does, and you for supporting him with it!

  85. March 9, 2008 12:26 pm

    Great blog party! Sorry I missed most of the guests πŸ˜‰ Nice to have a little tutorial and so many pictures! Glad to get to know you a little better as well πŸ˜‰

  86. Michelle Rosborough permalink
    March 9, 2008 12:47 pm

    Party on !!!!!

  87. March 9, 2008 1:02 pm

    I love that song so much. I actually just sent that link to my mom a couple days ago!

    Awesome blog. It looks like you have taken a lot of time with it.
    I love to scrapbook and some simple crafts when I have time.

    Prayers for your hubby’s safety and your peace while he is gone. Please thank him from us for his (and yours) sacrifice in keeping the freedom!

    Happy Blog party thanks for stopping by mine!

  88. Deb permalink
    March 9, 2008 1:30 pm

    Great Blog party! I even have my party clothes on! Come on by and Jam at my blog!

    DEB

  89. March 9, 2008 2:40 pm

    So glad I found your blog, I enjoyed and plan to be back!

  90. March 9, 2008 6:01 pm

    I wish I knew how to crochet 😦 Nice to meet you. Happy blog partying πŸ™‚

  91. March 9, 2008 6:52 pm

    I have a 4 and 2 year old too!

    Partying along at Goodies for Mom.

  92. March 9, 2008 7:18 pm

    Crochet rocks! Fun party.

  93. March 9, 2008 7:35 pm

    Happy Blog Party! Looooove the pictures! And I would so love to learn how to crochet. On my list of things I want to do before the babe turns 18. Er, 18 months. Anyway, thanks for the party!

  94. March 9, 2008 7:41 pm

    I love doing crafty things, so I enjoyed this post.

    Stop by my blog party if you get a chance. Thanks

    S.B.
    Be Thrifty Like Us
    http://bethriftylikeus.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

  95. March 9, 2008 7:46 pm

    Glad I found you. I’ll be back. Happy blog partying! (Love the chalk art — great idea to get the family involved in your work!)

  96. jenuinejen permalink
    March 9, 2008 8:29 pm

    Thanks for having me to your blog party. My dad is a United Methodist minister and I am from the South (Georgia) also. I appreciate the sacrifices you and your family make for our freedom. Every night we pray for our troops and their families for are sacrificing much for us.

    Hopefully, you will have a chance to stop by my blog party.

  97. March 9, 2008 8:37 pm

    Blog Chalk! Wow, something new for our younger children to try out! What a fun post you have with the blogging party in progress. It’s sweet to see your children outside, we have three feet of new snow from a storm yesterday. Our family loves old videos too, great family entertainment! Nice to meet you and your family!

  98. March 9, 2008 10:01 pm

    Hello Melissa
    Thanks so much for visiting my little corner of the blogosphere and blog party. I enjoyed visiting your blog and will come back to visit again.
    My husband is also away defending our freedom. He just left last week — his first deployment. So, I understand a little of what you must be going through. Thank you to you and your husband for your very own sacrifices. Hugs to you.

  99. March 9, 2008 10:02 pm

    wow! we have lots in common. i was raised southern baptist and am still southern baptist! i wasn’t the preacher’s kid, but close enough; my mom was the church organist and daddy was a deacon and sang in the choir! i lived in a small town that i couldn’t wait to move away from and now all i do is look forward to going home for visits!!! stop by to “meet” me when you get a chance. happy blog party!

  100. March 9, 2008 10:54 pm

    Great blog! I love your pics. I always try do do stuff like that but it never turns out so cute. Can’t wait to stop back by and learn more about your family.

  101. March 10, 2008 1:16 am

    What a great party you have thrown here! It looks like that another hobby of your is photography because the pictures are fabulous! I’m a bit jealous it’s warm enough to be outside by you though LOL

    I will be praying for your husband. Bless him for doing what he is doing. I will pray for a safe return for him.

  102. March 10, 2008 1:35 am

    Hey Mellissa,

    Thanks for stopping by my party, and inviting me to yours. I’ve just taken up knitting, so your blog is very inspiring to me! Count me in as a new regular visitor. Party on…

  103. March 10, 2008 2:16 am

    Hey. Great post. This is a nice blog you have here. I’d like to invite you to stop by mine some time.

  104. March 10, 2008 12:08 pm

    Hey! Hope you are having fun partying. You have some fun ideas going on your site! I wish I knew how to crochet. I am going to learn some day, maybe after I finally get done with School. It might take me another 6-7 years to get my degree but I am determined! Anyway. Have fun partying!

  105. March 10, 2008 1:55 pm

    Great party!

    I’ll make the scarf sometime, just not sure when. I have loads of other yarn and fabric projects to put out in a very short period of time.

    Have fun!

  106. March 10, 2008 4:00 pm

    Great Party! I love the sidewalk chalk you must live somewhere warm πŸ™‚ Nice meeting you.

  107. March 10, 2008 6:12 pm

    Well, I try to knit for the first time. It seems easy. I didn’t stick with it. However, your blog makes me want to dig in my closet and pull out some yarn and start knitting again. Nice party.

    Come and party with me, when you get a chance.

  108. March 10, 2008 9:52 pm

    Love the chalk greeting! Very cute!
    Just passing threw the party saying hi to a few people before I pack it in for the night.
    Great Blog! Blessings
    Debz

  109. March 10, 2008 9:59 pm

    Awesome party post!

    Great pictures. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  110. March 10, 2008 10:18 pm

    Love it! Thanks for the invite. The sidewalk chalk is great!

  111. March 10, 2008 10:36 pm

    Wow! This is AMAZING! So many bloggers!

  112. March 10, 2008 10:59 pm

    Hi Mellissa. Thanks for stopping by my party. It’s nice to meet you. πŸ™‚

  113. March 11, 2008 6:30 am

    i like your blog!

    happy blogparty! greetings from austria!

  114. March 11, 2008 8:12 am

    Snowcrash! Did you read the Baroque Cycle?

    And excellent crochet instructions…I love to crochet. I’ve just finished an afgan in Tunisian Crochet.

    Wonderful to meet you!

  115. wondermommy permalink
    March 11, 2008 10:30 am

    I have not read the Baroque Cycle. I really want to and have the first book. I did read Cryptonomicon which is very, very good, but that book is as long as the Bible…or longer. It took me months to get through that one because it was such a big committment.

  116. March 11, 2008 11:26 am

    Hi Mellissa it is nice to meet you!! You have a great site:)

  117. Colleen permalink
    March 11, 2008 1:00 pm

    Nice to meet you. Great site. Looks like you had a lot of fun partying with you kids. Come on over and visit my blog party.

  118. March 11, 2008 1:25 pm

    Great party! Come check out my blog party too!

  119. March 11, 2008 4:27 pm

    Hi… hope you are having a wonderful party… take care and don’t be a stranger…

  120. March 11, 2008 8:45 pm

    Hi Mellissa – good to meet you! What a cheery blog you have; thanks for hosting this party! I haven’t knitted in years but I keep a ball of yarn and several pairs of needles in the house just to make me feel creative. πŸ™‚ Have a fun week Party Hopping, and drop by my place if you’re in the neighborhood!
    Blessings to your entire family –
    DK
    A Flyover Blog

  121. March 11, 2008 9:01 pm

    Fabulous blog! And party, too!

  122. March 12, 2008 12:52 am

    What a fun, fun party you are having here!!! Love your kidlets…so cute! Thanks for the pattern for the scarf..I love to crochet too! Stop by and see me sometime! Happy UBP!!

    Alyson

    http://threepsinapod.blogspot.com/2008/03/it-is-never-too-late-for-good-party.html#links

  123. Tonya McManus permalink
    March 12, 2008 4:18 pm

    What A Party Thank you This Is Great

  124. March 12, 2008 5:10 pm

    I envy anyone who is crafty! I personally stink at crafts. But that’s OK… Stop on over for Confessions of An Apron Queen at http://anapronaday.blogspot.com

  125. Gina permalink
    March 12, 2008 5:11 pm

    Love your blog. Happy partying!

  126. March 12, 2008 5:51 pm

    Hi there- great post! It sounds like we have a lot in common. I have 2 boys, myself- 2 1/2 and 1 month old. I’m a Christian, I love crafts (I make greeting cards) and reading. My husband is probably going to be going away for 6 months- how do you do it?

    Party on!

  127. March 12, 2008 10:01 pm

    Hey! thanks for visiting my blog!

    Great party! πŸ™‚

    On another note…I’m a publicist…would you be interested in reviewing books on your blog?

    If you intersted…send me an email and I’ll give you some more info!

    Amy
    amyalathrop@gmail.com

  128. Ally P permalink
    March 13, 2008 9:09 am

    Happy Blog Party!

  129. March 13, 2008 5:25 pm

    Hmmmmm….

  130. March 13, 2008 6:18 pm

    Hello, Nice to “meet” you. I also love Dirty Jobs, and Ghost hunters. I only watch it when my hubby is home though because I am a big scaredy cat!!! Thank you to your family for giving up your husband to defend our Freedom, and Thank you to your husband for doing the same!

  131. Erica G permalink
    March 13, 2008 7:48 pm

    Nice blog! An extra special thanks goes out to your husband for your honor and service to our country and to you for standing strong.

  132. Brooke permalink
    March 14, 2008 8:31 am

    WOW!!

  133. March 14, 2008 1:19 pm

    awww, man, I wish I could crochet! Those patterns look awesome! Thanks for hosting a great party!

    Gillian
    http://www.gigiphotography.typepad.com/gigiblog/

  134. March 14, 2008 9:21 pm

    Wow, you did a great job on your party. I am impressed. I am new to blogging- one week. Happy party.

Leave a Reply

