Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

March 20, 2008

As I stood waiting for my children’s Easter pictures to be taken, I took the time to reflect on them.  It isn’t always easy being a mom, especially when my husband is gone.  It is trying at times.  Certain moments break your heart.  You often say and do the wrong things.  But, in the end, it is all worth it. 

 

In the midst of my reflection, I saw the joy on their faces.  I watched as the played with some blocks.  They were just happily content.  It really warmed my heart. Those little moments are what life is really about. 

 

As this weekend approaches fast, it would be easy to forget the true meaning of the holiday.  We need to take time to reflect on what Easter is truly about.  But, we also must remember that it is a time of joy.  Our Christ rose!  Share the story of the resurrection with your children, but also let them have fun.  It is a celebration of Jesus’ triumph over the grave. 

 

Here is my thankful list for this week:

  • Lord, I am thankful for my children.
  • I am thankful for every moment that you give me with them.
  • I am thankful for Your Son.
  • Thank you for sending Him into this world.
  • You sent Him into this world for me, and I just want to thank you Father.
  • Thank you for allowing me the chance to live with You forever.
  • Thank you for Your tremendous love.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 1:27 pm

    Such a lovely post, bless you.

  2. March 20, 2008 4:59 pm

    Oh, this was so beautiful! So glad God showed you these things this week.

    Happy Easter to you and your family♥

  3. March 20, 2008 6:35 pm

    I agree with your post so much. It is the small things that can touch our hearts the greatest. In spite of all the bunny does he can’t do what our lord and savior did for us. We shouldn’t love Easter because of those Peeps that put pounds on or the chocolate bunny’s which I love, all those things are really the worlds way of easter. We can still enjoy those things but just don’t forget the true meaning of easter. 🙂
    Keep going and God will bless you and remember that we are all Amadis (loved by god),
    Love,
    Amadis

  4. March 20, 2008 6:36 pm

    Awesome! I enjoyed that. Thanks for sharing! Happy TT and have a blessed Easter!

  5. March 20, 2008 10:20 pm

    I echo these lines about taking care of the kids while the husband is gone. Mine works away from home and it’s difficult at times although there’s just one kid to care for. Still it’s not easy – I say and do the wrong things at times. I always pray that God give me a patient and understanding heart for my kid always -and I hope the kid grows up to be a good Christian. Thanks for sharing your grateful heart.

  6. March 22, 2008 8:29 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful that our Lord gives us moments when we can reflect on the blessings we have in our lives. I am sure it is not easy raising your children while your husband is gone.

    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us.

    Blessings to you and yours – He is Risen!

  7. March 22, 2008 8:47 pm

    How easy it is to gloss over the things closest to you! Thanks for the reminder to hug my kiddos a little tighter…

Trackbacks

  1. Sting My Heart » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Resurrection

Leave a Reply

