Skip to content

Word Out Wednesday

March 26, 2008

”word

 

Today, I’ve got a dinner treat for you.  It is always a struggle for Moms to come up with fast, easy, delicious ideas for lunch or supper.  Well, here is a great idea for you.  Suddenly Salad by Betty Crocker.  Suddenly Salad isn’t just a side dish. It can become a whole meal.

 suddenlysalad.jpg

Suddenly Salad comes in several flavors.  Some of them are: Classic, Caesar, Creamy Parmesan and Chipotle Ranch.  They are great by themselves.  You just boil the pasta.  Then, you add the pack of mix to a couple of ingredients like milk or mayo…these vary depending on the flavor.  And, that is it.  You put it in the fridge and serve when ready.

Now, to make this side dish into a meal.  Depending on the flavor, I will add a can of chicken or a can of tuna.  While the pasta is cooking, I mix the ingredients into a bowl as directed on the box.  Then, I stir in the chicken or tuna.  I place the bowl into the fridge until the pasta is done cooking. 

When the pasta is about three minutes from being finished, I will add extra vegetables to it.  These can be steamed or canned.  Corn is great in the Chipotle Ranch.  Peas go with a great many.  Just add in what you feel will make it more hearty.  Just add them until you think it looks like enough.

Then, pour the pasta and veggies in a colander and rinse.  I usually add a touch of olive oil to the mixture as well.  Not too much, though. 

Pull the bowl out of the fridge and mix in your pasta and veggie mixture.  That is all there is to it.  You can serve it right away, or I prefer to let it sit in the fridge awhile.  It keeps for a couple of days, so this is a great make ahead meal. 

Betty Crocker also has a few recipes on their website to spice up these wonderful boxes.  So, click here to check them out.

 

 

Word Out Wednesday Participants

1. Cindy Swanson

Learn more about Word Out Wednesday here.
Get The Code

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2008 10:42 am

    I *heart* Suddenly Salad!! I wish there were MORE “suddenly” things….like Suddenly Kitchen Clean, or Suddenly Laundry Done!!

  2. March 26, 2008 10:45 am

    Still trying to get the word out about Word Out Wednesday! My post today is about a fantastic website for people interested in health and fitness.

  3. March 28, 2008 11:33 pm

    I used to buy that until I realized that for me, it was easier to make my own using Italian dressing, a few spices, and some Parmesan. I should post a recipe for it sometime.

  4. April 1, 2008 8:07 pm

    I would love a “suddenly teenager’s room is clean”. Seriously, I like suddenly salad as well. I am new to word out wed. interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

