Skip to content

Ipod Nano Case/ Cover/ Cozy

April 1, 2008

I have had many requests for the pattern to make this cozy, case, cover, whatever you want to call it.  I’m excited to bring it to all of you.  I’m also excited to say that if you want this cozy and cannot crochet…it will be offered in the Wondermommy shop.  Just follow the link.

I have tested this pattern myself, but have not had anyone else.  So, if you find a mistake or unclearn instruction, please let me know. 

nano2.jpg

nano1.jpg

 nano41.jpg

 nano3.jpg

Ipod Nano Cozy

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft Brites
      Worsted Weight (4-Medium)

Hook: I

1/2 inch cheapo white button

Gauge Swatch:

15sc X 19rows = 4”

Puff Stitch:

(yo and pull up a loop) three times, yo and pull through all
of the loops on hook

Pattern:

Cover:

Leaving a long tail for sewing, CH 13

R1: Sc in second chain from hook and in each sc across

R2: Ch1, turn, sc in each sc across

R3: Ch1, turn, sc in next 2 sc, Puff stitch in next sc, (sc in next 2 sc,
Puff stitch) across, sc in last 3 sc

R4: Ch 1, turn, sc in each sc across

R5: Ch 1, turn, sc in next 3 sc, (Puff stitch, sc in next 2) across

R6: Ch 1, turn, sc in each sc across

Repeat Rows 3 – 6 twice…it will measure approximately 3 inches

Rows 15-17: Ch1, turn, sc in each sc across

Row 16 is bottom of the case.

R18: Ch1, turn, (sc in next 2 sc, Puff stitch) across, sc in last three sc

R19: Ch 1, turn, sc in each sc across

R20: Ch 1, turn, sc in next 3 sc, (Puff stitch, sc in next 2 sc) across

R21: Ch 1, turn, sc in each sc across

Repeat rows 18-21 twice.

Flap:
R1: Ch 1, turn, working in front loops only sc in each sc across

R2: Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, ch 4, skip 4 sc, sc in each sc across (ear phone hole made)

R3: Ch1, turn, sc in each sc and chain across

R4-7: Ch 1, turn, sc in each sc across

R8: Ch 1, turn, sc in next 5 sc, ch 2, skip 2 sc, sc in next 5 sc (button hole made)

R9: Ch1, turn, sc in each sc and chain across

R10: Ch 1, turn, sl st in first sc, (ch 3, sl st in next sc) repeat across

Finish off

Weave in ends

Turn cozy right sides facing.  You can tell the right sides because the puffs are nice and large on that side.

Whip stitch sides together, make sure flap is left free.

Sew button to front of cover so that it will fit through button hole.
 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 2:01 pm

    How cool! Thanks for taking the time to write out the pattern. I have to admit I’m not very good at reading crochet patterns yet, but practice makes perfect. I’ll be giving this a try very soon.

  2. April 1, 2008 5:55 pm

    Nice pattern! I love the shell stitch you’ve got. I just wish I had the Nano. I’m still stuck in the dark ages with the old model iPod shuffle. It works for me though. Great little pattern. Will keep it in mind when I do finally upgrade my music player!

  3. Grumpy72 permalink
    April 5, 2008 3:23 pm

    Awesome, awesome pattern. I just made one for my sis who has a 3rd generation nano…. and this will be perfect for it! thank you! 🙂

  4. wondermommy permalink
    April 6, 2008 8:48 am

    I’m so glad that you like it! Your sis will love what you have made!

  5. Belinda permalink
    December 3, 2008 8:38 pm

    I like the pattern but how did you get your puff stitches so close together? mine are kind of small and have spaces in between them where you can see the 2 single crochet stitches.

  6. Rosemarie permalink
    January 31, 2009 4:40 pm

    Hi I just wanted to say that i have been making a lot of the german patterns for my two grandaughters. I just love them, even the ones not in english I have been able to just follow the picture directions. I have however come across a problem with the Sabato pattern …I am about to pull out my cats fur… 🙂 i dont understand the picture at all ….tried translating…but I am totally confused over how to make this hat. Help please I need help. Thank You

  7. Alanna permalink
    February 4, 2009 11:20 pm

    Great pattern, thanks for making it!

    I edited it a bit to make it fit my iPod touch. Basically just added four extra rows of puff stitches. It looks fantastic 🙂

  8. Dolen permalink
    April 8, 2010 7:34 pm

    this is very confusing

  9. abby permalink
    June 1, 2010 10:30 pm

    the pattern was flawless and worked up very fast. many thanks!

  10. August 4, 2011 11:20 am

    Hi! Very cute pattern! I have a couple suggestions (it’s pretty great now, but you asked!).

    1. Give the finished dimensions. I made it with the hook size you recommend, and it’s a little big. My daughter has the Shuffle, which is a TINY bit smaller than the Nano, and I’m making it using size F and I think it’s going to be just right.

    2. The rows following the puff stitch rows need to say “sc in each sc and each puff stitch across” instead of just “sc in each sc across.” I was a little confused as to whether we skip the puff stitch (since it’s not a sc), but I figured out that we don’t, or the pattern would shrink.

    Thanks again for your cute…and FREE!…pattern. Feel free to contact me if you’d like me to test any other patterns. I’d love to!

    Deanne

Leave a Reply

