Skip to content

Celebration & Giveaway

April 15, 2008

The Happy Hooker

Ok, I know you have all been wanting to know about the surprise that I got last week.  My hubby came home early from serving our country.  We weren’t expecting him until the end of the month, but he got to come home very early Thursday morning.  We were so excited and happy to see him.  The kids could not contain their joy.  They have been smiling and clinging to Daddy since he walked in the door. 

It is so good to have him at home.  It takes the burden of worrying about him everyday off of my shoulders.  It also takes away some of the every day stresses.  Needless to say, I’m walking on cloud nine. Now, you know why I had to take the weekend off from the blog!

This is the first reason why we are celebrating today!

The second reason that we are celebrating today is that my birthday is on Friday.  I’m going to be 31!  I know ladies should not really tell their age, but I’m proud of where I am at 31.  I don’t have problems with my age, yet, although 31 is harder than 30.  I think my parents are having a harder time with my turning 31 than I am. 

So, now that we are definitely celebrating, how are we going to do it?  A giveaway of course.  I think you’ll be very pleased.  Starting today, all you have to do is leave a comment on this post and you’ll be entered.  Want more than one entry?  All you have to do to earn two entries is link to Wondermommy on your blog or website, then come back here and post a comment stating that you have.  Then, you’ll have two entries in the pot.

On Friday, April 18th 2008, my birthday, I’ll announce the winner of the Giveaway. I’ll probably announce sometime around noon…give or take an hour or two.  You’ll need to keep checking in to see!

Now, you are probably itching to know what Wondermommy is giving away.  Here it is:

I’m offering a brand new copy of Debbie Stoller’s Stitch ‘n Bitch The Happy HookerI’m really excited about this selection.

The beginning of the book is full of beginning to crochet information.  This is a great how-to guide for all of you just learning to crochet out there.  The how-tos also provide a great resource for experienced crocheters.

There are also 40 patterns in the book.  They are for a variety of experience levels.  These patterns aren’t just those boring old ones that your grandma used.  Debbie has made some great, young, modern patterns.  They are fresh and inspiring!

I can’t wait to find out who will own this book!  Don’t forget to leave your comment to be entered to win! 

Good luck, everyone!!!

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 9:10 am

    Happy Birthday!!! And Yay for yer hubby home! Tell him Thanks!!

  2. April 15, 2008 10:14 am

    Happy Birthday and I can only imagine the joy of having your husband home.

    I wish you both all the best

  3. April 15, 2008 10:26 am

    Exciting news! Glad to hear your hubby is home. And Happy Upcoming Birthday! I know for me, turning 35 was the hardest of all of mine, and I’m now 41.

    Happy Hooker is a cool crochet book. Here’s wishing those who enter, good luck. It’ll be a great resource for any crocheter–or anyone who wants to learn to crochet, for that matter.

    (Please don’t enter my name in the contest, as I already own the book, and I recently received one of your give aways. Thanks!)

  4. familialopez permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:52 am

    Your birthday is the day before mine…hmmm maybe this could be my birthday gift..hehehe. Happy Birthday I really enjoy your blog. From one military spouse to another…I know the joy you must feel having your hubby home. God Bless.

  5. Sara permalink
    April 15, 2008 1:15 pm

    Happy Early Birthday! That’s great news that your hubby got to come home early! Those are the best surprises.

    Happy Hooker is a great book and I’d love to actually own a copy of my own. This is a great giveaway!

  6. April 15, 2008 2:23 pm

    congrats on having a healthy hubby come home! please give him my thanks for his service too.
    and thanks to you for being a military wife, i couldn’t imagine how hard that must be at times. happy birthday. i’m turning 30 this year (july) and have been a little apprehensive about it, but i am glad to hear it’s not that bad!

  7. Liza Corrine permalink
    April 15, 2008 9:12 pm

    Hey girl! Glad to hear he is home! Have a great week. Happy Early Birthday!

  8. April 15, 2008 9:31 pm

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

  9. April 16, 2008 1:20 pm

    That is happy news that your husband came home early! What could be a better birthday gift? Happy birthday!

  10. April 16, 2008 4:25 pm

    Came here through WW, but I had to comment on this one too….my friend has that book and I would love to get my hands on it!

    Happy Birthday!

  11. April 16, 2008 10:16 pm

    you are on my blog as a favorite I love to come and read your blog – you are an inspiration- I love to knit and would love to learn to crochet.I also am trying to start a quilt. wish me luck- come check out my blog i’m kind of new at it
    Hugs
    Meme Lorie

  12. April 17, 2008 3:27 pm

    Happy birthday for Friday – I’m only 2 and a bit years behind you, and not that bothered about turning thirty (plus) either. I think it’s easier to accept when you are settled down with kids. I certainly notice my single and childless friends worrying about their age a lot more! I don’t really have time to worry about it – a lot of the time I’m too busy to remember how old I am…:-)

  13. callmeabookworm permalink
    April 17, 2008 3:31 pm

    Count me in! Thanks for this great giveaway.

    Btw, I’m having THREE GIVEAWAYS combined on both my blogs. Hope you’ll stop by.

    ~ callmeabookworm at gmail dot com

    http://abookwormsdiary.blogspot.com/
    http://abookbloggersdiary.blogspot.com/

  14. Lolo permalink
    April 17, 2008 4:38 pm

    Happy Birthday Sis! I am very glad that your hubby made it home safely. You don’t have to enter me to win your book… You know I have never been as crafty as you. 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Giveaway Reminder « The Adventures of Wondermommy
  2. It’s My Birthday!!! « The Adventures of Wondermommy
  3. One Hour Until Giveaway « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

