Skip to content

Word Out Wednesday

April 16, 2008

Welcome to the home of WOW!  We would really like for you to join in on getting the “Word Out” about whatever you want to, each Wednesday.  If you would like to join us, just click here for the instructions.  Everyone is welcome to join.

This week I’m going to recommend a book.  I love Sci-Fi, but I don’t have a large background in older Sci-Fi.  I’m trying to spread my wings and build my knowledge in this category.

The first book that I chose to start my journey was Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.

 

This is a classic novel and many were required to read this during high school.  I never read it.  I saw the really bad 60s movie that is so different from the book to be almost a completely different story. 

This book was originally titled The Fireman. The main character, Guy Montag, is a fireman.  Not a fireman as we know them, but a fireman that actually starts fires.  Montag lives in a future where books are outlawed.  No one in allowed to own them, or read them.  They aren’t even allowed to exist.  In this time, there is a general thought that books cause pain, discord, and too much free thought.  People are felt to be happier without literature.

Montag as a fireman has devoted his life to ridding the landscape of these horrid things called books.  Until the day, that he meets a girl that lives next door.  She is a free thinker.  She likes to talk about real things.  She opens a door in Montag’s mind. Montag only realizes it when he finds that he has stolen a book from a house that was to be burned. 

I invite you to read this book that should be read by all.  Books are important to us all.  They are our way of learning and retaining knowledge.  Let Bradbury walk you through a future without books.  I think you will agree it is bleak. 

 


 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2008 11:51 am

    My Word Out Wednesday today is about Christian author Mindy Starns Clark. Check it out! 🙂

  2. April 17, 2008 11:07 am

    I got mine up a day late, but it’s a free magazine offer. The little Mister Linky thingy didn’t work so I didn’t add it.

Leave a Reply

