Skip to content

It’s My Birthday!!!

April 18, 2008

I can’t believe it’s my 31st birthday! So, today is celebration day. 

I’ve decorated the place with Bell Bottoms balloons.  I wish these existed in the real world. 

This has been a great week.  The most important thing is that hubby is home, and that it has been perfect having him here.  My stress level plummeted after his arrival.  I’ve had a big smile on my face ever since I saw his.

Crafting news:

Monday, I washed my first shipment of SIs Boom Bell Bottoms fabric

Tuesday, I traced the pattern that I’m going to use on them.

Wednesday, I added the seam allowance to the traced patterns and cut the pattern out.

Thursday, I’m taking a craft break.

Today will probably be another break, it’s my birthday!!!

Saturday, I’m going to cut the pattern and actually sew it.

Next week, I should have a completed project to show you.  I’m really excited about it.  I think I found the perfect pattern for this fabric.  I can’t wait to share it with Jennifer Paganelli.  This is her beautiful line.  Let’s hope I don’t mess up the sewing of this pattern.  It is a little intricate.  I would hate to have to tell you I ruined that beautiful fabric.  I should also have more live pictures of the line to show to you.  My order from J Caroline should be here next week.

Now, back to the celebration!

I have to share my gift to myself.  Thursday, yesterday, I got a haircut.  You are all probably thinking…big deal.  It was a very big deal to me.  When my husband is gone, I rarely get to have my hair done.  I don’t live anywhere close to family, and I only get a babysitter every couple of weeks at night.  This means that there isn’t very much mommy time. 

My hair had been growing for quite some time.  You’ll see in the pictures.  It was so, so, so long.  I, honestly, didn’t realize how long it had gotten.  I knew it was becoming a pain in the hiney.  Long hair gets tangled in the strangest places.  It would fall in the wash water as I bathed the kids.  Pony tails don’t even keep it out of the way.  My pony was longer than most regular hair styles.  Needless to say, it was time for a change.

I decided that since I was getting my hair cut. I wanted to do something special with the hair.  I decided to donate my hair to Locks of Love.  They make wigs for those who lose their hair to cancer with hair donated to them.  I also thought this was a wonderful way to remember my Pop, my husband’s real mother, and honor his stepmother who is currently battling breast cancer. It felt wonderful knowing that I was doing this not only for me, but for some special person out there.  The giving back feels so good! 

Here are the before and after pictures.  You will not see many pictures of me on this site, so take a good look.  There was one more thing that came out of this.  My pictures made me decide it was time to lose some weight.  I’ll share that journey as I embark on it.

  

I _LOVE_ my new haircut.  It is so light and so stylish.  Jenn at Bubbles salon did such a great job!  I also treated myself to some new hair care products from the salon.  I feel like a new woman.  My son really likes seeing my pony tail in the ziploc bag.  It will go on its journey to Locks of Love very soon.

I’ll share more about my actual birthday…soon, probably on Monday.  Have a great Friday!  Don’t forget to sign up for the giveaway.  I’ll be announcing the winner today!!!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bunnyb permalink
    April 18, 2008 3:33 am

    Happy Birthday to you!!!! Love your new do!! 🙂

  2. April 18, 2008 4:17 am

    I love your new hairstyle – it does feel like a treat when you don’t get to go very often, doesn’t it? I was in that position until my youngest started school, and now I get to go regularly – I’m not used to it yet! Hope that you have a great birthday. x

  3. April 18, 2008 10:16 am

    Yay for birthdays! Hope yours is a good one. Love the new hairstyle. Mine was to my waist when I finally decided to cut it to my shoulders. It had a lot of grey in it plus at the time it was permed, so I never donated it.

  4. April 18, 2008 8:06 pm

    Happy Birthday!! Happy new fabric! and, I love your hair! You are such a cutie!

    I just cut my hair all off too, and decided (again) to lose some weight after seeing pics of me…*sigh* Let me know if you find any wonderful painless way to drop a pound (or in my case 40).

  5. April 21, 2008 11:18 am

    Happy birthday (a bit late, sorry!) – I love the new hairstyle! 🙂

Leave a Reply

