Skip to content

Where has all of the yarn gone?

April 29, 2008

Let’s talk about yarn today.  It has been frustrating recently to find exactly what I’m looking for.  Long ago, I used to be able to walk into Wal-Mart and find what I needed.  Wal-Mart has done away with their yarn section in most locations.  Wal-Mart carried a large selection of Red Heart yarn.  That was good then, but now I like to try to use natural fibers.  I’m not totally against using acrylic, but I like to try to keep it natural when there is an alternative out there.

I live in a place that has a small Jo-Ann craft.  It is better to shop there for fabric which I do quite often.  They have a really small yarn section.  It is limited to mostly specialty yarns.  They also have a few huge skeins of baby yarn like the Pound of Love.  So, I rarely buy yarn at Jo-Ann.

Michael’s has a better selection than Jo-Ann.  I can usually find what I’m looking for here.  They carry several brands.  There is a selection of natural fibers.  It isn’t as large as I would like, but cottons, wools, and like one or two skeins of bamboo are available.  Michael’s was my only alternative until a couple of months ago. 

Then, A.C. Moore opened.  I’ve put off going in because I just figured it would hold the same crafts that Michael’s does.  Yesterday, I decided to journey into the unknown for the first time.  They have a huge yarn selection.  There were all types of natural yarns.  Bamboo and hemp blends.  All types of wool.  I was in yarn heaven.  It has been a long time since I saw so much yarn in one place.  There were all sorts of beautiful colors and styles.  It was mind boggling.  They didn’t have everything that I needed, but it sure was close.  I spend 30 minutes in there and still didn’t see and touch everything.  I see another trip in my future.

I’ve also just located a specialty yarn shop in our downtown area.  I think in the next week I’ll make a trip there to see what they have.  I’m trying to locate some good sock yarn in a fun print.  I would rather buy it in town than have to pay for shipping.  I’m actually going to try to knit some socks…we’ll see if that happens or not 🙂

I haven’t really purchased much yarn from the Internet.  The only place I’ve really ordered on-line is Herrschner’s.  If you have a favorite on-line yarn shop, I would love to hear what it is…leave me a comment and let me know.

Also, as far as the shops above that I’ve talked about, I can only tell you my experience in my town.  I know there are larger, better Jo-Ann stores elsewhere.  It just isn’t here.  A.C. Moore may be the stinky yarn shop in your town.  You’ll have to do your own investigating.  I just hope my research helps you decide where to visit first.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pdxknitterati permalink
    April 29, 2008 1:16 pm

    Get thee online to knitpicks.com and you’ll find lots of reasonably priced yarn. Lots of natural fiber, too. Good luck! We’re blessed with an abundance of yarn stores where I live, but I still get my felting yarn from knitpicks.

Leave a Reply

