Skip to content

Georgia Grace Designs

May 10, 2008

Today, I’m doing my first Wondermommy feature.  This has really got my heart racing.  It is so much fun making new friends.  I’m going to introduce or re-introduce Georgia Grace Designs.  I first met, or whatever the web term for that is, Jordan Manis when she commented on one of my Bell Bottoms posts.  I believe things happen for a reason.  I went to Jordan’s etsy shop and discovered the cutest kids’ clothes.  She uses trendy fabrics in inspiring ways.  They are lovely and wearable.  I found myself wanting to learn more about the designer behind this etsy shop.  Jordan has been gracious enough to do a mini-interview and allow me to do a feature post on her.  Thanks so much Jordan. 

I highly recommend visiting her etsy shop.  She has some beautiful items listed.  There are some cute Bell Bottoms outfits listed.  I knew I had to get to know her better when she listed these.  We both share a love of Jennifer Paganelli’s gorgeous fabrics.  She also has some really beautiful Ginger Blossom items listed.  Jordan has used the fabrics in very inspiring ways.

 

 

Now, to get to know the owner of Georgia Grace Designs:

  1. Name

    I’m Jordon Manis of Georgia Grace Designs. 

  2. How long have you been sewing? 

    I’ve been sewing and crafting for as long as I can remember! My mom always had “projects” to keep my brothers and I entertained when we were younger, so I learned the value of handmade very early. I grew up watching my mom sew anything and everything so sewing seems second nature to me. I do remember a real turning point in the designing side of my sewing was in 7th grade Home Ec. We had to make a pillow for Christmas and my mom took me to one of the chain fabric stores in the area to pick out my fabric. I searched and searched the shelves for something and I was not happy withthe stores entire selection. I wanted some special and unique that no one else would have along with embellishments that would knock my classmates sock’s off! After so long my mom made me choose a fabric that was not cool (I forgive you mom) and I remember not being happy with that pillow to this day! LOL. That’s probably the start of when I wanted to take my sewing to the next level of designing sewing projects.as well as, my extreme love of designer fabric. 

  3. What other crafts do you enjoy?

    I’ve just started to teach myself to crochet. It’s going slowly. So far, I have completed a scarf that will only fit a Barbie doll. I also love to bake (is that a craft?) and seldom need a reason to make something sweet. Lately, I have been obsessed with “couture” cupcakes and am planing a cupcake extravaganza for my girls 3rd b-day party. Anyone want to come? 

  4.  Besides children’s clothing, what other items do you enjoy sewing? 

    I do a lot of Home Dec sewing. It’s actually the majority of what I did before my girls came along. My husband is in sales and often gets transferred so I have had many windows and bedrooms to decorate. We are probably within a few months of another move and I have nightly dreams of a house filled with AnnaMaria’s new Drawing Room Home Dec line.  

  5. What is your favorite sewing tool?

     Oh, gosh! I don’t think I have just one. How about two? First, my “vintage” sewing machine. It’s an old Singer that was a hand me down from my mom … actually, I think I took it to college without asking and she bought herself a new one. She made my baby blanket (that I still have) on that machine and I used it to make all of my girls baby bedding. It’s priceless. Second, would have to be my ruffler. It has changed my life since I finally bought one a few months ago (really, about three months ago). I actually measured and pinned every little pleat I ever made until 3 months ago. Now I realize how ridiculous that seems and why I’ve always preferred box pleated bed skirt.

     

  6. Do you have any advice for beginners?

    Just go for it!!! I have made so many ugly things that have taught me invaluable sewing skills and after a couple tries turned into one of my most popular creations. Also, take lessons… I still do! Lot’s of local sewing/quilting stores have classes for new to advanced sewers, some even have “private” lessons. They are affordable considering the lifelong skills that you will walk away with.   

     

  7. What is the favorite thing you have ever made?

     Okay… I’m going to have to say that ugly, horrible pillow I made in 7th grade Home Ec. I *wish* I still had it or even a picture to share.  
      

  8. What is your all-time favorite fabric line? 

     I have to say Jennifer P’s Sis Boom line, hands down. The apple green Karen Scroll from that line is worth it’s weight in gold to me. I love all her prints, but the Karen scroll is special to me. I’d like to start a blog petition to bring it back! I also have to mention Urban Chick’s Summer in the City Chicks print as a favorite fabric.  
      

  9. Where do you find your inspiration?

    I think I get a lot of my inspiration from color combo’s rather than styles or themes. I love to use unexpected color combo’s and make them very girly and sweet. For example, I was so excited for Jennifer P’s Orange Mary Trellis print to come out because I found the orange unexpected. Strangely, I do very little sketching and use very few patterns (they confuse me). I usually think about different designs as I am falling asleep or in the shower and they always seem to revolve around colors and fabrics rather than styles.  

     Wondermommy, Thank you so much for featuring Georgia Grace Designs on your blog! I have enjoyed following the many projects you have blogged and am really excited to be introduced to your readers. I’d also like to mention that my fabulous design team on Etys, Trendy Textiles, is having a month long launch featuring Jennfer Paganelli’s new fabric, Bell Bottoms. Just search “ttbellbottoms” to see all of the amazing designs!

 
 

 Thank you so much, Jordan, for sharing so much about yourself with the Wondermommy audience.  You had some really great advice and it was wonderful to learn where you get your inspiration.  We’ll be looking for more of your beautiful designs in the future.

Make sure you stop by Georgia Grace Designs on Etsy.  Jordan is graciously offering 15% off for Wondermommy readers.  All you have to do is convo her using the Etsy system.  Thank you for this generous offer, Jordan!

I, also, have to say that the outfit to the left is one of my favorites listed in the shop.  I love the orange fabric and the design of the outfit.  Hop on over to her shop to see the back of it!  The back really make the outfit.

 

 

 
 
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2008 8:41 am

    I’m so glad I found your blog and the good ideas you share.

  2. May 10, 2008 8:42 am

    I’m so glad I found your site.

  3. May 10, 2008 10:57 am

    Love the fabrics!

    Blessings,
    Linda
    Practically at Home

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY from Practically at Home

Leave a Reply

