Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

May 22, 2008

       

I have a lot to be thankful for. In the face of day to day life, I forget to stop and thank God for the things that truly matter.  I start to feel sorry for myself.  I start to envy others.  I forget that the grass is not always greener.  Things are not what they seem.

I have a wonderful husband, two beautiful children, a huge family, and great friends.  People are what really matter in life;  lives that touch ours,  living through the hardship of this world together,  fellow-shipping together.  Jesus wanted us to love one another and to care for one another.  We all too often forget to appreciate those around us. 

My husband had knee surgery, so he has been lying in bed.  As I did things for him, I started to realize this is one of the good things in life.  It would have been easy to get bogged down in the duty for caring for one more person, but that is what I was put here for…to care for my family.  It felt good to bring him meals and drinks.  It felt good to take him his ice pack.  It felt good to care for him. 

I just want to thank the Lord for this experience.  It has opened my eyes to life and compassion.  It may seem small to some, but it really has helped me.  The Lord sends us the things that we need to grow. 

I thank you Lord for:

  • My husband
  • My children
  • My family
  • Our health
13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2008 2:54 am

    Thanks for sharing i know we have lots to be thankful for the Lord. Take care and may God be with you always.

  2. May 22, 2008 5:25 am

    Such a touching post, blessings to you sweetie.

  3. May 22, 2008 7:32 am

    Happy TT to you!

    Oh, I sure hope your husband is feeling better!!

    I’m sure you’ve done a great job taking care of him.

    Blessings♥

  4. May 22, 2008 7:43 am

    What a great reminder of our task here on this earth. To love those the Lord puts in our lives is a blessing in and of itself. Thank you for reminding me to look at the grass I am standing on even if it is dead. There is no better place to be.

  5. May 22, 2008 8:06 am

    Caring for the family is a blessing from God. It’s God’s design for us. That’s really nice that you took care of your husband and children. I can’t wait to care for my husband in real. 🙂

  6. May 22, 2008 9:17 am

    Amen! People are what matter. Our lives are all about relationships and what we do with them. Sounds like you received a blessing to deepen your servant heart with your hubby. What a gift. Thanks for sharing your transparent heart today. Blessings on your weekend.

  7. Melissa permalink
    May 22, 2008 12:44 pm

    Thank you for sharing your heart! It is such a wonderful post! We all have much to be thankful for and we shouldn’t forget that! Hope your hubby feels better soon!

  8. May 22, 2008 4:17 pm

    I hope that your husband is up and around soon.
    Happy TT!

  9. May 22, 2008 9:43 pm

    Amen to that. I totally agree with you. I had the same experience several years ago when my beloved had to have back surgery…it was a great experience for me – good to learn about compassion indeed.
    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us.

    Be blessed today and always…

  10. May 22, 2008 11:10 pm

    Oh, what wonderful blessings and thankfulness.

    Happy Thankful Thursday!

  11. May 23, 2008 10:12 am

    Great post!!!

    God Bless your weekend!

  12. May 23, 2008 8:11 pm

    Amen! What a sweet and honest post. I pray your husbands knee heals quickly and the Lord bless you for having such a sweet spirit in this time. Thanks for sharing.
    Stacy

Trackbacks

  1. Sting My Heart » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Time

Leave a Reply

