Skip to content

My Trip

May 23, 2008

We went to SC recently to visit family and to attend the graduation of my cousin and his fiance from Clemson University.  We are so proud of them both.  He graduated Summa Cum Laude.  He has a very bright and happy future ahead of him.  Congratulations!

It was also a good opportunity for the kids to visit with all of my relatives.  They love seeing: Granny, Gammy, Papa, Maw Maw, and their aunts and cousins.  You know how it is visiting grandparents…no rules and lots of goodies!

My mom, Gammy, offered to give us a couple of days rest.  So, my husband planned a romantic getaway.  It was fabulous.  He took me to The Red Horse Inn in Landrum, SC.  I am in love with this place.  We hope to go back when we have more free time.  We stayed in our own private cottage, Carriage Bay.  It was lovely.  I asked my husband if we could just move there, but the kids would have found us eventually.

I had no idea where we were going.  It was a total surprise.  When we arrived, it was such a beautiful place.  We checked in at the Main Inn house.  The views were gorgeous.  You could see Table Rock in the background.  The cottages were also visable.  You wouldn’t believe this location. 

Then, we drove out to our private cottage.  There were red roses and champagne waiting.  Rose petals were tossed across the bed.  I couldn’t have asked for anything more perfect.  We ventured into town for a cozy meal at a local pub.  It was delicious.  They had some wonderful crab cakes!  We spent the rest of day one relaxing.  It was so quiet with no kids around.

On Day 2 we set out to see some of the local sites.  We visited the Cowpens Battlefield.  We also went into downtown Landrum.  This place is a haven for antiques.  It was so much fun browsing the shops.  I walked away with a vintage tablecloth and a salt and pepper set.   We had lunch at a home cooking place called The Junction.  I highly recommend it.  There is nothing better than southern home cooking.

That night we spent the evening relaxing.  We each had an hour long massage.  It was amazing.  This was my first massage and I see many more in my future.  I went first and I was so relaxed that I took a nap during my husband’s session.  We didn’t even have to go anywhere our masseuse came to our room.  Then, a fillet Mignon dinner was delivered to our room.  It was amazingly delicious.  That is where what you need to know about the evening ends 🙂

It was a fun, relaxing, and romantic little interlude. 

We spent the rest of our time in SC visiting family.  It was nice to see everyone.  There was a little car accident at the end, but no one was hurt thank goodness.  My car was backed into by Maw Maw in the driveway.  I’m just glad no one was hurt.  It is ok Maw Maw…just an accident 🙂

I got some crafting done in the car.  I embroidered for the first time.  Let me tell you, embroidering in the car becomes extreme embroidery.  Bumps cause needles to fly everywhere.  I don’t really recommend this as a car craft.

Here are more pictures of my trip, if you are ever in SC visit the Red Horse Inn:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

