Skip to content

Zoe

June 5, 2008

I have never before sewn knits.  My son wears mostly knits, so it has been hard to find patterns that work for him. He often gets left out.  Well, I decided that there is no time like the present.  I bought ball point needles, read my manual, and broke out my Farbenmix Zoe pattern.  And, let me say, it was not as hard as I thought it would be.  It isn’t as easy as sewing wovens, but not as bad as I had envisioned either. 

The Zoe pattern is great!  It is so versatile and unisex.  I used the straight cuts, but there are also tapered versions so that girls get that closer fit.  On the dinosaur shirt, I didn’t pull enough on the collar so that it was snug.  That was my biggest mistake.  I used my cover stitcher on the dinosaur shirt, and I used just a zig zag on my regular sewing machine for the other shirt.

The fabrics came from two different places.  The dinosaur fabric and white rib knit came from Sewzanne’s and the other fabrics were purchased from Fabric Hound

I think I’ll have to try sewing more knits in the future.  It is the only way to conquer that fear.  So, don’t be afraid.  If I can do it, so can you!  It really was fun, and not half as hard as I thought that it would be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2008 5:58 am

    Over here in Australia and I am not sure about other countries there was a company called Knitwit which was very big for the home dressmaker. All knit fabrics…..and there were a heap of them available. I did at least two full courses so was a double certifided Knitwit…….no surprise to those who know me……but what it did was ruin me for sewing clothes in any other fabric. Having made all my clothes from a teen, I suddenly lost all confidence and had to start buying them. Have now gone into quilting but have never got the dress making confidence back. We are not getting a slightly better range of knits available again but not yet the nice fabrics we had back in the early ’80s I would make an outfit a night. Then wear it the next day.
    So creative and easy to change things and adapt.

  2. June 5, 2008 1:41 pm

    I have been hesitating about sewing some pretty jersey fabrics for some comfy baby short and I think I’ll definately have a go as yours have come out so well!

Leave a Reply

