Skip to content

Summer Apron

June 6, 2008

Here’s pictures of the apron that I sent to my Sassy Apron Swap partner.  She should have received it by now, so it’ll be ok if I share.  The fabric reminded me of a summer picnic.  It has all sorts of food stuffs on it, and has an abundance of red, white and blue with a splash of green to make it funky.  I also made pockets and a towel hanger out of Heather Ross fabric.  We had to embellish the aprons this time.  I used ric rac to accentuate the fabric.  I hope my partner likes it.  There were other goodies included in the package as well. Oh yeah,  this was my own apron pattern.  This is the first time I designed by own.  I think it turned out pretty well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2008 8:55 am

    Congratulations on your apron. An interesting fabric I have not yet come across in my travels.
    You remind me I have material stashed somewhere to make some aprons. We got a free one with two of our Australian magazine subscriptions which is a very good bib one and would be easy to cut out a pattern from. The piece around the neck and ties were all in one piece and threaded through a seam at the side of the chest area. The only thing which needs to be better is the a Bobble or something needs to be on the end of each tie to keep it from sliding all the way through. But a nice simple idea. I seem to recall grabbing some curtain fabric bargains to make aprons. Must go find and make.
    I have a fun one that I made when I sang/performed one of the leads in the musical Brigadoon…I pleated the hem of it and it would be quite a good trim to use again.
    All the best.

  2. June 6, 2008 9:40 am

    That apron is so cute! I have loved that fabric for a long time, but haven’t had anywhere I could use it. I didn’t think about an apron! I love the ric rick on it too! Great job!

  3. jodz permalink
    June 7, 2008 4:13 am

    What gorgeous fabric. I would love an apron like this. I must look through my material stash.

Leave a Reply

