Skip to content

EtsyBloggers Blog Carnival

August 29, 2008

This is my first Blog Carnival for the EtsyBloggers street team.  I’m really excited about being a new member of their group.  This month’s carnival is hosted by:  Tulips Treasure Box.

Something You Did When A Child That You Will Always Remember

When I was little, I stayed with my Granny during the day while my parents were at work.  It was great being able to stay with her.  My pop always had Thursdays off, so these were special treat days.  All of us grandkids were excited to spend his day off with him.  He owned a local tire shop in town and worked very hard.

The most special moments on Thursdays were when we would ride up into the mountains.  We would carry a picnic.  On our way, we would stop at a convenience store and buy a coke and some peanuts.  If you aren’t from the south, you need to try this.  Put peanuts in your coke and drink it and eat the peanuts.  This was such a great treat. 

Then, we would find a dirt road and go hiking in the woods.  It was so much fun finding new special places on our Thursday trips.  I wouldn’t trade anything for these moments with my pop.  And, not once, did he ever complain about spending his day off with his grandkids.

My pop is gone now, but I will always remember these days with him.  I will try to carry on some of these moments with my own children.  It really is true that I will carry him with me forever.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2008 6:52 am

    What is a blog carnival???

  2. August 30, 2008 9:10 am

    Your wonderfilled childhood memory/story brought tears of rememberance. My Grampy was special to me in a lot of ways, and never once made any of us grandkids feel like we were “taking up his time”. You knew you were loved.

    ~Lily

  3. wondermommy permalink
    August 30, 2008 9:43 am

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog_carnival

    Here’s a good article to tell you what a blog carnival is…the list for this one will be posted on Monday.

  4. August 30, 2008 9:50 am

    That was so sweet, you were very lucky to have such a loving grandpa…
    peanuts in coke! have to try it.

  5. September 1, 2008 10:50 am

    that must have been a long time ago! WOW – what a memory. Something to stick with you forever!

  6. September 1, 2008 1:41 pm

    sweet! Pops are great aren’t they?

  7. September 3, 2008 7:59 pm

    what a lovely memory.

Leave a Reply

