Skip to content

September Sew-A-Long: Zoe Day 4

September 10, 2008

Zoe Day 4

Zoe Day 3

Zoe Day 2

Zoe Day 1

 

 

 

It is day 4!  I’m sorry that it took so long for this day to get posted, but my other life, not the crafting one, is really hectic right now. Our move is coming up very soon!  Enough about that…let’s get to sewing.

Today, we are adding a neck band to our shirt.  This is a pretty easy step.

We need to fold our neck band in half and iron it down.

You’ll have to ignore the mess around and on my ironing board 🙂

Now once you have that ironed, you can take your shirt and neckband to the machine.  If you are using a serger…go to the serger.  If you are using a regular machine, you can go there.  Regular machine users need to zig zag the edges once they have sew the neckband in place. 

Line up your neckband with the neck hole on your shirt.  If you are a beginner sewer, you may want to pin it in place.  I am not pinning.  If you pin, note that when you are pinning you need to stretch the neckband as you go around.  Since I am not pinning, I’m going to start my items through the serger and stretch as I go.  I will have to line up the neckband with the shirt and stretch slightly as I go around.

Once your neckband has been attached, it will look like this:

It is ok that there is a lot of leftover neckband.  We will cut that down before sewing the shirt together.

Our next step, is to iron the neckband down so that we can topstitch it in place.  It should look like this after ironing:

Now, you will need to select your method of topstitching.  If you have a coverstitcher, this would be a good place to use it.  I have one, but since most do not, I’m going to zig zag it on my regular machine.  You could use a regular zig zag stitch or some other decorative stitch.  I’m going to use this one:

It is a multiple stitch zig zag and will have lot of give to it.  That is important on knits.

Now, topstitch your neckline just as you would on any other garment.

Here’s what I have after topstitching:

As you can see on my neckband there is a little bunching.  I’m not quite happy with this.  I should have set my stitches further apart.  I used the steam iron to take most of the stretching out.  Puffs of steam will help shrink your back into place if you have the same problem.

I’m going to tell you now that this shirt has a wide neck on it.  You may need to pull your neckband more than you think.  Many alter this pattern so that the neck is smaller, but I want to take you through the pattern as it is.   You can make adjustments the next time you sew it. 

We are done for today!  Leave a comment to let us know your progress.  Day 5 will be coming soon!  You are almost done with making this tee.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 5:22 pm

    I want you to know I’m really impressed with your sew-a-longs – even if I’m not sewing along… Your pictures are clear and followed by foolproof instructions on what to do – it’s so generous of you to make such an effort and put it out here for people to join in on. Hats off from me! 🙂

  2. wondermommy permalink
    September 10, 2008 5:35 pm

    Thank you so much…I really appreciate it! I really do this for all of you out there.

  3. September 10, 2008 9:34 pm

    http://flickr.com/photos/reedlepageandrews/2847396170/in/photostream/ Okay – I’m sewing along. Will do day4 tomorrow!!!

  4. September 11, 2008 8:09 am

    Hi! You were so nice to answer my question on the Sew, Mama, Sew! website about suggestions for boys’ patterns. I was on the fence about joining the sew-along, but this is looking adorable! I just ordered a Zoe pattern and will catch up as soon as it arrives. Thanks so much for doing this; my little guy will LOVE this shirt!

  5. Mary J permalink
    December 13, 2008 2:21 am

    I have to tell you that I am putting you on my favorites. I love the way that you do the neckband so that you can cut off the extra after serging. Brilliant! I had to look a while for a neckband tutorial that works for my kind of sewing and you are it! Thanks!

  6. Laurie permalink
    July 6, 2010 12:59 pm

    I just wanted to say thank you so much for this tutorial. My word, I’ve been searching for hours trying to find some translation for the Farbenmix Sara pattern with no luck. I stumbled across your sew along here and figured I could use the neck band step for this Sara Tank! So I just wanted to say, THANK YOU. Thank you for putting forth the effort to help people along the way…. its so nice to know that there are still generous and caring people out there. God bless you.

Trackbacks

  1. September Sew-a-Long : Zoe Day 5 « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

