Skip to content

September Sew-a-Long : Zoe Day 5

September 13, 2008

Zoe Day 5

Zoe Day 4

Zoe Day 3

Zoe Day 2

Zoe Day 1

 

 

Today, is our final Zoe day!  You’ll have your very own Zoe tee after completing these steps.

Now, we are going to close the final sleeve seam.  You will do this the same way that you stitched the sleeve to the back the other day.

Now, we are going to sew the side seams.  This will be the entire side seam and it will close your shirt up.  I usually start from the tip of the sleeve and make my way down, but you could go the opposite way.  I just find it easier to line up the seams starting here.

The above pictures are what you should have after finishing these side seams.  You have a shirt…just unhemmed.

That is our next step…hemming.  You will hem your sleeves and shirt bottom.  This will be based on the size of the seam allowance you used.  I actually cheated a little.  Knits are pretty good about not unravelling.  So, I decided to just turned up the hems once and use my multi- zig zag stitch.  This should keep it from unravelling.  You could also turn the hems twice, or use a coverstitcher.  Use the method that you prefer.

Now, your shirt is complete.  It is time to try it on your little one.  If the hems pucker a bit, try zapping it with a steam iron.  This helps eliminate some puckers.  Knits are tricky!

Here’s my son wearing his shirt!  He loved it.  Like I said, the Zoe has a large neckline, so in the future…I would probably shrink it down some.  But, it really is a wonderful tee and so easy to make.

Share your finished Zoes!  Leave a comment to show us where to look, or post your photos to the Wondermommy Flickr Pool.  We would love to see what you have made!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2008 1:22 pm

    Woo-hooo I finished, too! I sent the photos to the Wondermommy flickr group. This shirt was easy, but I’m seriously doubting the measurements for the neckline were correct in the pattern. I used good ribbing with excellent recovery and stitched with a nice long stitch length….oh well. Next time I’m going to cut the neck ribbing a full 2 inches shorter. Peter loves his anyway.

  2. September 16, 2008 1:14 am

    I just saw this link, and now I am inspired to go back through all the days I missed and try it out for myself! You are such a creative spirit, I just hope I can pull off the collar on the sewing machine, that is the part that concerns me.

Trackbacks

  1. Mika and Zoe Days « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

