Skip to content

Mika : Day 1

September 19, 2008

Mika : Day 1

I know you thought that this day would never come, but it has arrived.  We are actually beginning day 1.  I’m so sorry to all of you that it took me so long to begin.  I should have known better than to start a sew-a-long during a big move.  My sew-a-long is not going to go as quickly as Nancy’s, but bear with me.  We will get through this one together. 

As you may know, I doing the boys’ version of the Mika pants.  Nancy is doing the girls’.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to get through this one.  I’m terrified of certain parts.  If I fail…I will go down swinging.  I’ve never put in a zipper…more or less a zipper fly, but I’m going to try for all of you.

You will need to purchase your Mika patterns.  These are in German…that is why we are doing the sew-a-long.  This will guide you through, so you won’t need to speak German.  I don’t!  So, it is actually good that I’m behind.  I need Nancy to translate through it first 🙂  You can get your pattern at: Fabric Hound, Banberry Place, or on Ebay.  I’m sure there are other good shops that carry the pattern, but these are the ones that I have ordered from and can recommend.

I’m using lightweight cords for this project.  Make sure that you use some sort of bottom weight.  You can use more than one fabric as well.  I will be using two cords of the same weight.  One is a milk chocolatey brown and the other is a biege with little footballs and helmets embroidered onto it.  I found both of these at Jo-Ann craft. Make sure that you wash, dry and iron them before beginning.  This will help ensure that your pants do not shrink later.  Iron them with the right sides facing.

You will also need a zipper, thread, trims, and probably elastic (not sure yet).

I’m also using a copy of Nancy’s sew-a-long to help guide me.  You may want to print it out, too.IMG_0138

Ok, this is the same step as the other tutorials.  You will need to take out your rather large pattern.  We will need to trace it and add a seam allowance.  I’m adding my standard 3/8″ seam allowance.  You add what works for you. 

IMG_0131

Here is a list of the pattern pieces as provided by Nancy…I’ll mark the ones we are using in orange:

1-Front Pant Leg Panel & Fly Piece (Girls’)

2-Pant Front Upper Corner (Both)

3-Pant Leg Front Middle (Girls’)

4-Pant Leg Front Lower (Both)

5-Front Pant Pocket (Girls’)

6-Pant Leg Back Upper (Girls’)

7-Pant Leg Back Middle (Girls’)

8-Pant Leg Back Lower (Both)

9-Rear Pocket (Girls’)

10-Cuff (Both)

11-Waistband (Both)

12-Front Pant Leg Panel & Fly Piece (Boys’)

13-Pant Leg Front Middle (Boys’)

14-Front Pant Pocket (Boys’)

15-Pant Leg Back Upper (Boys’)

16-Pant Leg Back Middle (Boys’)

17-Rear Pocket (Boys’)

18-Side Pocket (Boys’)

19-Pocket Flap (Both)

Ok, Now that you know what the pieces are you can cut them out.  Here’s how many of each you need.  The waistband is the only piece that is cut on the fold.  The rest you need to cut out by folding fabric and cutting two pieces so that they are mirror images.  Everything you will need two pieces cut except the waistband and the pocket flaps.  You will need one waistband and four pocket flaps.

Cut them out once you have them traced and the seam allowance added!
IMG_0170

The next decision you have to make is what pieces to cut out of what fabric.  Here’s the way I decided to divide my pieces. 

The Football fabric: 2,4,8,14,15,17,19

The brown fabric: 10, 11, 12, 13, 16

You will have to make your own decisions here.

IMG_0175
IMG_0184
IMG_0189
IMG_0199

Make sure that you transfer all of your markings!!!  This is important!  I also labeled each of my pieces. It can get confusing later.  This will make sure that you don’t mix any of them up.  I just used a chalk pencil to label.
IMG_0180

 

This pretty much wraps us up for today!  If you are like me, this took all day to complete.  I had to do all of this on the floor since my cutting table is being loaded on a moving truck.  My back was killing me.  Thank you to my dad and Pam for letting me take over your house, and thanks to my mom for the DSL connection to upload this sew-a-long post.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2008 2:54 am

    Hey Mellissa! I’ve been sewing along with Nancy and managed to make some pretty ummm.. groovy pants. I realize now that I failed to add any seam allowance which is why my small size are absolutely miniature! ha! Can’t wait to see how yours come along!

  2. September 19, 2008 6:48 am

    Melissa, I’m totally impressed of how detailed your instructions are. I could never do it like that. Seems I’m a girl of few words *g*.

  3. September 19, 2008 2:04 pm

    Hello Melissa,
    I have never used an actual pattern before. So, I don’t quite understand the tracing part. I just trace my seam allowance around the outer edge of the actual pattern and then cut the pattern and trace it on the fabric and cut the fabric? I realize that this probably sounds like I am a total moron. And to cut mirror images, do I just lay the fabrics right sides together and cut them? I swear I am not as dumb as I sound right now… 🙂 I just want to be sure before I begin all of the cutting. Thanks!

  4. wondermommy permalink
    September 20, 2008 6:46 pm

    Yes, sometimes it works best to trace the pattern first…Then, add the seam allowance around every side that you have traced that will be sewn. Then, cut along these lines.

    Mirror images result when you fold the fabric in half(right sides facing)…place your pattern on the top layer…and cut through both layers.

    I love answering questions…don’t feel dumb asking them…it is the only way to learn.

Trackbacks

  1. Mika and Zoe Days « The Adventures of Wondermommy
  2. Mika Sew-a-Long « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

