Skip to content

Owl Skirt

September 20, 2008

IMG_0102Another cute skirt that I made for the Wondermommy Shop!  It is just a pattern from off the top of my head.  I love how the fabrics came together.  I wasn’t sure of them at first, but I think they work.  The bottom print really gives weight to the bottom.  I love the owls, too 🙂

I’ve had all of these fabrics just sitting in my stash.  I’ve been trying to pull from my stash and lighten it a little, lately.  The fabric really does no good just sitting on shelves!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2008 2:36 am

    Hello Wondermommy!
    What a GREAT fabric-mix in form, pattern an colours!

    Nice greetings from Germany
    Sabine

  2. September 20, 2008 7:43 am

    That is cute!

  3. woody permalink
    September 20, 2008 10:22 am

    I absolutely adore the owl fabric. When you just come up with an idea and make a pattern on the wing – how do you work out sizing – Do you have a chart or something to give you some dimensions?

  4. wondermommy permalink
    September 20, 2008 6:55 pm

    Twirl skirts have very easy sizing…so it is not really because I’m a sewing genius. It is quite simple. I use major kids clothing brands to see what they say the waist size for that size is. It take that and then I decide how full and how long I want the skirt to be.

    If I am going to make a three section skirt, I usually do 1 and 1/2 times the waist measurement for the basque or top of the skirt. Then, the second layer will be 1 and 1/2 times the first layer. And, on this skirt the third section is the same as the second because it is a simple band.

    I hope this makes sense. The elastic is the waist measurement minus one inch. I hope this helps you make a skirt!

  5. September 20, 2008 7:06 pm

    very cute and I think the bottom does add just the right weight to the top….cute!
    Lori

  6. September 25, 2008 9:37 am

    too cute that owl skirt..adore…

Leave a Reply

