Skip to content

Mika : Day 2

September 22, 2008

Mika Day 2

Day 2, and I’m still alive!  Ok, this is going to seem like an incomplete day, and that is because it is.  I’m only going to walk you through part of the pocket process.

Here’s a look at the pants pieces together. This will give you an idea of what the pants will look like later:
 IMG_0203

I have to tell you that I was going to make side pockets, but I’ve decided against it.  I’m leaving off the side pockets, so you won’t need piece 18.

The first thing that you need to do is zig zag or serge the top and bottom edges of the front pockets.  Then, finish the back pockets on the sides and bottom. 

IMG_0213

Now, we are going to add a little trim.  I know what you are thinking…trim on a boys’ outfit.  I’m going to show you that it is ok to add a little trim to a boys’ outfit.  This is how I’m adding the color to the pants.  I’m going to use red and blue trims…ric rac to be exact.  I’m also going to use eyelets and a little twill tape. 

The best way to decide what trims to use is to place them on the places where you want to use them and just play with the way that they look.  Keep moving them and changing them until you find a place that feels right.  It is more of a feeling than a rule, so you’ll just have to find your way here yourself. 

I also need to say that I’m adding color by using a red topstitch thread.  This will punch up the pants and keep them from being the same old boring brown cord boy pants.  They have a football theme and what team has a dull brown as their team color.  We want our team colors to be bold!

Now, I’m going to sew twill tape to the back pockets with a little red ric rac on top.
IMG_0221

Now, I added a smaller blue ric rac to the front pockets.  I wanted them to be a little less bold. 
IMG_0220

Now, we need to sew together our pocket flaps.  Take two of your 19 pieces, lay them right sides together and sew around the outside.  Make sure you leave a hole for turning.  I left the hole at the bottom center because I have an embellishment that I wanted to add.
IMG_0215

Turn them right sides out and press.  Here  is what you should have so far:
IMG_0219

Now, I inserted the embellishment that I made.  I took a piece of twill tape and added eyelets to it.  That gave me this strip for the pocket.  I inserted it into the turning hole and topstitched twice around the flap. Once at 1/8″ and once at 3/8″.  This is the flap that resulted:
IMG_0230

Now, fold the top of the front pocket under twice.  I did this the width of the serging stitches twice.  Then, press.  Repeat the process for the bottom of the front pocket.  Then, run two lines of topstitching 1/8″ and 3/8″ from the edge.  This is what you will have now:
IMG_0232

That is as far as we got this time.  I run out of time for sewing and had to run so I could upload these for you.  Next time, we will finish the pockets and sew the front leg pieces together. 

If you have any questions, leave a comment and I will try to answer you.  Don’t forget to share your creations in the Wondermommy Flickr Photo Pool.  Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

