Skip to content

State of My Union

September 23, 2008
tags: , ,

I know very of few of you really, really care about my personal life…you are mainly here for the sewing, but the few of you that do…I thought I would give you an update and the largest run-on sentence you have ever seen 🙂

I’m am still annexed with the kids in SC.  My husband and I had to pick a fridge via phone and many trips to stores by both of us this weekend.  I think we have decided, but not totally sure.  You may be asking why a fridge when you haven’t even closed?  Well, we have to have a fridge when we move in and with ordering dates…we need to get that settled soon, so that it’ll be waiting for us.

The movers are at my house today packing boxes.  The good thing is the kids and I are not there.  I’m glad my hubby took that stress all on himself.  My fingers are crossed that he is still sane through that.

The truck will come on Wednesday to pick the boxes up.

Now, for the things that really effect me.  I’m trapped with dial-up.  It is killing me and my blogging ability.  I’m barely able to check emails.  I’m doing to my mom’s house twice a week to blog.  That means that I have to get sewing done, take pictures, load them onto a card, drive to my mom’s, and upload them there.  That is why the Mika sew-a-long is going to go so slowly.  I’m really sorry about this to all of you.  I’ll do my best to have at least three Mika days a week, but we’ll have to see how that goes.  We will get through it though.

It is also hard to find time and energy to sew right now.  I have taken over a very tiny corner of my dad’s basement.  It isn’t the most cheerful spot to sew.  It is more of a man cave, so it makes me turn the football games on and get really into watching them…instead of sewing.  The good part of this is that it is really nice to spend time with my dad.  He loves football and so do I.

The kids are having a blast with all of the grandparents!  They have been playing their hearts out.  It is so nice to watch them around family.

I promise when the move is over, things will return to normal.  I was getting the etsy shop filled, but that has slowed to a crawl again. My goal…it will be really, really full by the end of October.  Christmas items will fill it.  That includes outfits and craft aprons, and more crocheted toys. 

I hope everyone out there keeps sending your wonderful, positive thoughts and prayers our way.  I really need normalcy again.  I really need to have more than one room to myself 🙂  The good news is that it is just a couple more weeks, and I’ll be in my new home. 

oops, one more thing!  My mother-in-law who is going through chemo had a bad fall.  So, keep her in your prayers as well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2008 9:36 am

    I hate the process of moving…
    We have done it way to many times!

  2. Fledgling permalink
    September 23, 2008 10:13 am

    Oh, Mellissa! It’s probably not the fridge, per se, just all the fridge represents. Knowing you can have a fridge, because you’re going to close on a house. And wanting a fridge you like, because its so darn big and you’ll want it to be the one you want. And how do you know how anything is going to turn out over the next days, weeks, years? Take your time. Our fridge has been temporary for the past nine years. Just a really inexpensive one we picked up “until” we would settle on a different one. Well, that darn thing is still here humming a monotone song in the background as I type 😉

    You will have so many new adventures. New friends to make, new neighbors to get to know, new places to shop and eat and relax. It will be great!

    Good luck. Deep breaths.

    -Nancy

  3. September 23, 2008 1:10 pm

    And here I am, asking you all kinds of pesky questions, when you are stuck on dial up in a basement trying to get your work done. Take your time and you could even just postpone and that would be just dandy with me. For what it is worth. I am just grateful for your help!

  4. wondermommy permalink
    September 23, 2008 2:16 pm

    Thanks everyone for your encouraging thoughts. I don’t mind the questions…keep them coming. I’ve been able to get a lot done on Mika today. I should have a bunch of days coming as soon as I can get to my mom’s with the decent internet connection.

    My hubby was going to order a fridge last night. As long as it keeps things cold…I guess it will be just fine 🙂

    I’m not dreading the move…just the moving process. We’ve moved a lot. I think this will be number7. Hubby was in the military and we had to move a great deal at the beginning of our marriage. Hopefully, this one will stick awhile 🙂

    Thanks, again…I’ll shut up and go back to sewing!

  5. September 23, 2008 9:50 pm

    we moved 6 times in one year. I hate it. I don’t want to do it again. we lived with my mom for 6 weeks while we found a place to live. It was nice being home but stressful at times too. I’m keeping you in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

