Skip to content

Mika Day 5

October 3, 2008

Mika Day 5

We almost have something that looks like pants.  They are starting to come together, so don’t lose faith yet. In the next couple of days, you are going to learn that I’m not that perfect of a seamstress.  I have moments where nothing goes right.  Just wait…you’ll see.  But, until then…let’s get started for today.

Get your back pieces together.  We are going to put the backs of the pants together.

The first thing that we are going to do is sew the top back pieces to the middle back pieces.  This is pretty easy to line up.  Just look closely at my pictures.  I just went ahead and serged these in place.

IMG_0426

IMG_0428

After you sew that piece into place, you can iron and topstitch it. Iron the seam toward the top piece. I used my twin needle to run two lines of stitching to topstitch it in place. Repeat this for the other side.

IMG_0429

IMG_0432

IMG_0435

Now, you need to add the bottoms to the back of the pants. I simply serged this right in place. The pictures really can tell you more than my words about this task.

IMG_0442

IMG_0448

Do not topstitch the bottom of the pants. This is better left to when they are sew to the fronts, but you can go ahead and iron the seam toward the middle piece.

Now, we need to add our pockets to the backs. This is where you will see that I’m not perfect when sewing. I’ve never made a bartack in my life, but learned a lot while doing it. First, let’s position the pocket pieces. You’ll need to make sure that the markings from the pattern has been transferred to the middle pieces of each side. You will need to flip the pattern over on one side. It will look as if the pockets will be turned, but when they are sewn…the pockets will sit straight down. I just used a water soluble white pencil to transfer the markings.

IMG_0580

IMG_0584

IMG_0585

IMG_0589

Now, position the bottoms of the pockets in place. I did not pin. If you are a beginner, I highly suggest pinning. I’m using cord fabric and it sticks together, so I didn’t have to worry about my fabric sliding around.

When you are positioned the pockets, sew around the pockets 1/8″ from edge. That is the blue stitching on my pockets. I _tried_ to bartack at the top of each pocket…TRIED. I’ve never done that before and my efforts were quite pitiful. I’m going to have to practice this skill. If you decide to bartack, use the manual for your sewing machine to teach you how.

IMG_0591

IMG_0595

IMG_0642

Now, that those are sewn in place, we can sew the flaps in place. I just used my judgment here. I placed them where I thought that they should go and made sure that they were the same distance from the pocket on each side. I stitched them in place with a zig zag, but you can use a straight stitch down the top line of the flaps. I also tried again to bartack. This is where my bartacking really needs help. We’ll just pretend that I’m going for the “look”…you know the poorly sewn look 🙂

Here is the finished shot of the best flap, I was embarrassed to show the other one. I thought it would do more damage to rip the stitching and try it again. After I slept on it, it wasn’t really that bad. At least, I learned from it. Remember, no garment is ever perfect.

IMG_0649

Now, our backs are finished! Next time, we’ll sew the backs and fronts together. We’re getting closer to the end.

If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll try to answer!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2008 9:26 am

    Oh those are going to be the cutest little boys pants! I have a question though, the blue thread on the flap, is that bartacking as well? I’m wondering because I have never really tried it before, and that looks like a different stitch to me. You said it looks hasty, but I kind of like the look! I’m just wondering if the there is a zig zag setting you used to do that or how exactly to replicate the look on the sewing machine.

  2. wondermommy permalink
    October 3, 2008 10:36 am

    The flaps are bartacked on the ends. This is a special stitch…you’ll have to look in your manual as to how to do it. Every machine does it differently. You can see the shot of my manual’s explanation.

    I’m glad that you like the look! I wasn’t sure that I did at the time, but it is growing on me.

    The top of the flap is just a simple zig zag across. I actually stitched that first and went back and bartacked the ends.

  3. October 3, 2008 10:51 am

    Thanks for the tip! I will have to play with it some and see if i can get a handle on it myself. Thank god for the pile of scrap fabric! lol.

    I do like it, i think the blue zag adds a little pizazz to the whole look.

Leave a Reply

