Skip to content

Mika Day 6

October 5, 2008

Mika Day 6

Ok, We have fronts and backs…we need to sew them together.  This will give us something really close to complete pants.

Go get your fronts and backs.  Now, lay them out. You’ll be able to tell which goes where. I’m going to add an eyelet trim in the seam of one side. To do that, I take the eyelet trim. I, then, baste it in place. Then, I sew the side trapping them in place.

IMG_0669

IMG_0683

IMG_0680

All you’ll do now is stitch the side together as shown above. Line them up and sew with your serger down the side of the pants. You’ll end up with the above shots. You need to make sure your pieces line up correctly. You may want to sew a narrow seam first and then go back with the serger to make sure the pieces are aligned correctly.

When you have done this, you’ll be ready to topstitch the side seam. This is an optional topstitch. If you decide to do this, make sure that you sew it now. I didn’t. Do what I say and not what I did! I sewed it after adding the cuff and should’ve done it first. I’ll show these shots with the other topstitching later.

Now, let’s add the cuff. Fold your cuff pieces in half and iron them. Now, line them up with the bottoms of your pants and serge them in place. Here’s what you should have now:

IMG_0690

Now, iron the cuff down with the seam toward the pants piece.

IMG_0692

IMG_0699

The above shot shows the cuff topstitched in place. I used a twin needle to do these stitches.

You also need to topstitch the bottom pants piece to the middle piece. Here is what mine looked like:

IMG_0697

This is a shot of the side seam topstitching:

IMG_0691

IMG_0692

IMG_0703

Here’s what we have now that we have sewn the sides and these pieces are folded:

IMG_0713

IMG_0716

The next step is sewing the inseam. This is pretty self explanatory.  

Here’s my legs:

IMG_0722

We need to sew the crotch seam next. Place one leg right side out, inside the wrong side out leg. Then, match the crotch seam. Remember, don’t sew up all the way to the top of the front. You have to stop or there will nowhere to place the zipper. Nancy had a great shot of this on her blog. You’ll sew to the top of the curve of the pants.

IMG_0724

IMG_0727

I’m sorry that there aren’t more pictures of these steps. It was getting dark and I was hurrying and forgot to take pics. I think the ones that I do have will help you through this.

IMG_0729

IMG_0730

IMG_0732

This will give you something that resembles pants. You’ll be able to try them on your little one. Our next step will be to add the zipper. This step scares me…it’ll be my first zipper! If you have any questions, just leave them in the comments section. I’ll try to answer them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2008 2:39 pm

    Hmm.. See with all the blue lacing sewn around the pants, the pockets really stand out now! I have been observing these pants since I saw your blog, I cam going to have to give them a shot now I think, and hurry to catch up! I have never used a zipper either, but i wander with a little alteration, maybe I could just use an elastic waistband.

  2. October 6, 2008 1:39 am

    So, so cute!

    Hugs,
    Lory

  3. October 6, 2008 1:57 pm

    It looks great! Good luck with the zipper. I have only attempted that once. So I don’t have any advice to give!

  4. beads permalink
    June 2, 2012 6:54 am

    Hello,
    I am the owner of an online beads store. I’m currently looking for guest posts on blogs in the same niche as my store. Would you be interested in posting a guest post that links to my store?
    I’d love to hear from you soon.

    • July 11, 2012 10:29 am

      Hi,
      Thank you for the offer, but I no longer blog here. I’ve kind of left crafting behind for awhile. I’m really busy with writing novels and the upkeep of two other blogs. Thank you so much for the offer. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

