Skip to content

Same Wondermommy…Different State

October 10, 2008

IMG_0753There is so much to tell…I really don’t know where to begin.  We left SC on IMG_0759Sunday.  We left family for an unknown place.  It was kind of scary, but exciting!  The kids did really great on the trip.  Can you believe we only had to make one stop?!?!

Around supper time, we arrived at our new house.  It is the first time that the kids and I saw where we would be living.  I have to say my hubby did an amazing job picking our house.  I could live here the rest of my life.  It is a huge leap up from the house we were living in.  I almost don’t know how to live in it.

Hubby had placed cut flowers in the kitchen, living room, and bedroom. He really is romantic.  It was such a nice touch.  He worked really hard getting set up what he did.  Despite all of his hard work, we are surrounded by boxes and probably will be for a little while.  There is no way around it.  I can only empty about 10-20 a day.  It is so much work setting up a new house.

The first day here I climbed into the whirlpool tub in the master bath.  It is amazing.  I see that getting a ton of use.  I’m not trying to brag about the new house.  I love it.  It is just IMG_0746amazing to me knowing where my husband and I started almost 12 years ago.IMG_0747  We started in a little apartment that was infested with insects.  We had nothing.  He had just graduated from college and I was still in.  He joined the Army to support us.  We haven’t always had everything that we needed, but we picked ourselves up by the bootstraps and keep climbing upward.  We started with nothing and have come so far.  My husband is truly wonderful.  He has worked so hard and given us so much, and he did it all himself. God has truly blessed us and led us on the right paths in life. He is the reason that we are where we are now. Without His Grace, we would have nothing.

IMG_0782As with each move, there is so many things that have to be set up.  We didn’t even have our mailbox installed the day we moved in.  This house is brand new and there are so many things that have to be done.  The builders only finished the last touches the day before closing.

Our biggest problem was getting the DSL connected.  It is so hard to get good customer service these days.  It is even harder dealing with people clear across the world that really have no idea what they are doing.  It took forever just to get a local service guy out.  That did exactly what we told them needed to be done.  DSL had to be turned on at the main box for our house. 

IMG_0774We have been living without tv.  This really stinks because all of my new shows just started.  I really wanted to watch House on Tuesday, but as you can see…I lived through it.  The Directv guy will be here on Tuesday. So, hopefully, I won’t miss another episode.  I’ll be able to watch the one that I missed, now that I have DSL.

Little man started back to school, and has already been sent home with a temp. He is ok now and back at school today. The first day was rough. He cried and held on to me, but since then he has wanted to go back. He is enjoying making new friends. My baby girl wishes that she could go with him, but I’m so glad to have my little helper here. I don’t know what I would do with both of them away all day. I have another year to face that…thank goodness.

IMG_0781Like I said, as much as I work…it seems like I am spinning my wheels.  There is always another box to be opened…another pile of paper to be thrown away.  I will get there, but it is going to take a lot of work.  I’ve had a few really good things happen to me in the crafting world, but I’m going to wait to share. 

Mika will be finished as soon as I get my craft room set up enough to finish it.  It is well on its way, but it’ll take me a few days.  Again, I’m sorry to all of you out there waiting for it.  I should never have begun this sew-a-long while moving.  I try to do too much!  I have to learn that sometimes being a Wondermommy means knowing when to say when. 

Ok, I think that is all for now.  I love you guys and thanks for bearing with me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2008 3:31 pm

    Welcome to my neck of the woods! Hope you have a wonderful life here:)

  2. October 10, 2008 4:42 pm

    Your house is beautiful. We have those same colors in our house! Glad things are going well and your son is better and likeing school.

  3. October 10, 2008 5:35 pm

    From what I can see it looks lovely! Gives me hope. We’re in the poor newlywed stage. 🙂 We don’t have cable, but watch a ton (including House) on hulu.com so you can still catch it!

  4. October 10, 2008 10:57 pm

    The house looks beautiful!

  5. October 11, 2008 9:18 pm

    Hey Melissa! I strolled on over from sew mama sew! Your house is absolutely gorgeous, I can see why you are so very excited! Congratulations! I am going to go and catch up a bit!

  6. October 14, 2008 10:32 am

    Good luck in your new home! It looks absolutely lovely.

Leave a Reply

