Skip to content

Birthday Part 1

October 27, 2008

IMG_1302My son’s birthday was a really fun couple of days, so I’m going to break it up over the next few days.  There are tons of pictures to share, and I don’t want to overload you. 

His birthday started on Thursday.  My dad and Granny came down from SC.  They came bringing presents, of course.  Little Man was so excited to see them and the presents were just a bonus.  They didn’t stay long.  They had to leave on Friday, but it was so nice of them to come down. 

On Friday, we took Little Man to the Davidson Space Center.  Dumb me, forgot my camera, but it is something that we’ll do again and I’ll share pictures then.  The kids had so much fun seeing the rockets and all of the other space equipment.  My daughter was ready to go into space…Little Man not so much.  My daughter walked away with a plastic space shuttle which she played with constantly.  My son made us get a knock off of a light saber.  They each got astronaut ice cream which they ate as soon as we walked in the door.  It really was a nice trip. 

Friday ended with Gammy coming for a visit.  The kids were really excited to see her.  After everyone was in bed, daddy and I decorated for the Batman mega birthday.  We hung all of the decorations and wrapped all of the presents.  It is so much fun to have your children wake up to decorations on their birthday.

IMG_1307On their birthdays, I make a special breakfast.  Little Man wanted biscuits, gravy, eggs and sausage…so that’s what he got.  He really loved eating the muscadine jelly that my granny made on his biscuit.  He, then, put on his special Batman apparel for the day.  This was a pair of Batman pjs.  When can you wear pjs all day long, if not on your birthday!

IMG_1355The kids played with balloons while we dressed.  Then, we headed to the park.  It is a great park with a ton of equipment to play on.  If you don’t keep track of your kids, you really could lose them in the place.  They ran, slid, climbed, jumped, and all of the things that kids do.  They had a lot of fun, especially, the birthday boy. 

 IMG_1403

IMG_1424

IMG_1446

IMG_1454

IMG_1472

IMG_1490

IMG_1497

We, then, headed back home…stopping off for a McD’s happy meal, Little Man’s choice.  He got to pick all of the meals for this special day.  We ate, then, broke out the batman cake.  After cake, it was present time.  His dad went a little overboard, but it was worth it to see Little Man’s face.  The move has been kind of hard on him, so he needed a totally wonderful day.

I wanted to say thanks to all of the friends and family that sent cards and presents and called him on his birthday.  It is all much appreciated.  You helped make his fifth birthday special. 

More of his special day will continue tomorrow!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2008 9:38 am

    What a fun couple of days! Also, I love the vintage Halloween costume! Way cool!!

  2. October 27, 2008 1:11 pm

    so much fun! all the play ground pictures have me hoping for more sunshine in the northwest–of course I’m always hoping for more sunshine in the northwest:).

  3. October 27, 2008 3:21 pm

    Happy Birthday to your little (big) man! 🙂

    Also, I commented on SMS, but I’m not sure you saw it. I live where you just said you moved. I can see you guys went to Kids Space, my kids love it there (but with 4 it gets tricky keeping track!) Anyhow, I’m also in your SCB group. Feel free to email me or contact me if you have any questions about Hsv. 🙂

  4. October 27, 2008 4:24 pm

    Very nice photography & I like the vintage halloween costume too – very cute.

  5. October 27, 2008 9:25 pm

    Happy B-day Little Man!
    What a special day! I love how you let him pick his meals. And the batman pj’s are too cool!

Leave a Reply

