Skip to content

The Jacket

November 4, 2008

IMG_2150I first saw this pattern used on Sew Mama Sew.  I thought it was the cutest thing ever, so I contacted the lady who made it and she was nice enough to share what pattern it was…McCall’s M5697.  Well, I was excited to get it…then, I let it sit around.  Since then, I’ve seen these jackets pop up elsewhere around the net.  So, I finally got around to it and I’m glad that I did.  This is a great little pattern and pretty easy.  There are four variations…I chose View B.

Jennifer’s fabric is just perfect.  I used Green Mary Trellis, Blue Claire Blocks, and Green Claire Blocks for the buttons.  I made the buttons myself using those metal buttons that you cover.  You can pick up those kits at most craft stores.

I’m just completely in love with this jacket.  My daughter will probably be wearing it out on most outtings…even if it doesn’t match what she is wearing. 

One more note, I made the sleeves a little longer than they were supposed to be.  I didn’t liek the 3/4 sleeve look. I wanted them to reach her wrists.  You know me…I couldn’t just make the pattern straight.  I also added buttons to the pockets for a little extra accent, too.

This jacket is light weight, so it is good for Fall or Spring, and can be worn as just an over-shirt.  I’ll definitely be making this one again.  Miss Sid has just entered into size 3Ts, and I made her a size 3.  Here are some more shots of the jacket:

IMG_2036IMG_2047

IMG_2064

IMG_2153

IMG_2161

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 12:11 pm

    Very Cute Jacket – nice job!

  2. November 4, 2008 12:46 pm

    Looks awesome! Great work.

  3. November 4, 2008 1:39 pm

    Oh, that is to die for. Nice job!

  4. November 4, 2008 1:49 pm

    I love the jacket. Especially the sleeves. Nice and billowy. Beth

  5. November 4, 2008 6:05 pm

    That’s darling! I wish I had my own. So.. Indie Chic! I wish I could sew for my girls like that! I’m trying to teach myself, and just made a quilt with lots of…personality or mistakes as most would call them. But, I’m giving it away on my blog, so enter at your own risk. I wish I could do a giveaway that was beautiful like this quilt, but alas you can only do what you can do. And, I’m only doing it in hopes of helping generate donations for my friends baby who is in need of a heart transplant. Anyhow, sorry for the novel, just wanted to say, great job!

  6. November 4, 2008 10:51 pm

    I love this little jacket! I think I will go get the pattern tomorrow! Thanks for sharing.

  7. November 5, 2008 5:44 pm

    so gorgeous! You have talent!

  8. November 5, 2008 11:15 pm

    Very cool!

  9. seemommysew permalink
    November 6, 2008 3:17 pm

    That is lovely! I’m very impressed!

  10. November 7, 2008 12:10 am

    That is absolutely adorable!

  11. November 10, 2008 10:51 am

    So lovely! Did you make the buttons as well? Your little model is a cutie pie. Found your blog through Jennifer’s post. Have a happy week! Warmly, Cathy ^..^

  12. November 11, 2008 2:45 am

    The jacket is just adorable..the model is too! Jennifer’s fabric is so cute. :o)

    Stephanie
    Queen of Dreamsz

  13. November 12, 2008 12:26 pm

    Very cute, i love the color choice!

Trackbacks

  1. Pretty as a Princess « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

