Skip to content

Thrifty 50 Update

December 12, 2008

It is time for a thrifty 50 update.   It has been so much fun creating Christmas gifts from what I already own.  Here are some of the things that I’ve been working on:

Washcloths

Washcloths

Boys' Craft Aprons

Boys' Craft ApronsCrocheted CupcakesDaughter's Christmas Dress

Crocheted Cupcakes

Crocheted Cupckaes

IMG_3392

The best part is that I haven’t spent a dime.  It all came from my stash.  I didn’t have to add anything to make all of these items.  The aprons and the cupcakes are my own design.  The Christmas dress is the Miss Madeline pattern by The Handmade Dress.  I modified it by making the sleeves long and shirring them.  I also shirred the waist instead of adding the elastic waistband.  I used Jennifer’s beautiful fabrics.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lou permalink
    December 12, 2008 3:28 pm

    I have that pattern too… Did you have to shorten the length some?? I have shirred the waist and top on that one too…. What did you do for the sleeve width?

  2. wondermommy permalink
    December 12, 2008 3:46 pm

    I didn’t change the length. It is about ankle length on my daughter…It just looks shorter because of the height of the dummy from the floor.

    The sleeves I made almost the same way as the dress. I measured the length of sleeve that I needed on my daughter. Then, measured straight down to that length from the pattern piece on the fabric. Then, I went out about two inches from that point. Next, I drew and angeled line from the bottom of the pattern piece to the new point.

    I hope this makes sense.

  3. December 14, 2008 2:14 pm

    I saw this on Flickr. It is wonderful! I also love the Christmas card. Your little girl’s stockings make the outfit complete! What a nice job!

Trackbacks

  1. Hot Christmas Online » Blog Archive » Thrifty 50 Update « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

