Skip to content

My, Robot

January 2, 2009

img_4011

I couldn’t leave my son out for Christmas.  He gets so few things that I make.  I found the perfect pattern for him.  It was from Wee Wonderfuls put together book number 2.  I made one half of this set.  I cranked this out on the 23rd.  I thought I wasn’t going to get it done, but it worked up tremendously fast.  It was a couple hour project.  So easy, yet so cute! 

It is perfect for little boys.  Of course, I made the robot, and I hope to get the spaceboy done soon.  The mouth on the robot started out orange, but I had to go back and make it purple.  The orange blended in too much with the Freshcut fabric.  I used fabrics from my scrap pile, so this is a good way to get rid of those scraps that keep hanging around. 

The most fun part of this pattern is making the control panel on the robots belly.  The instructions have several versions, but I cam up with my own.  I even let my son pick the buttons to use.  Just let your imagination be your guide. 

You may ask why I chose purple for the mouth and buttons….I didn’t.  My son’s favorite color is purple and they were his choice.  I didn’t sew him up the best, but I think the look on my son’s face is all you need to see to know this was successful.  He hasn’t put him down since getting him!

img_3989

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 11:29 pm

    Love that, bet he adores it!

  2. dixiemango permalink
    January 3, 2009 9:32 pm

    Soooo cute!

  3. January 4, 2009 9:46 am

    adorable!

  4. January 4, 2009 1:33 pm

    Super cute!!!

    Just dropping by. I found you through Mom Bloggers Club Technorati Group and I just faved you!

Leave a Reply

