Skip to content

Serger Worms

January 12, 2009

img_4562

I don’t know what else to call these, but they remind me of worms.  These are the little bits that are leftover after serging.  I get these things everywhere.  They are stuck in the carpet, to my clothes, on my children…they are everywhere.  It is almost link an infestation.  Don’t get me wrong…I wouldn’t trade serging for the world.  I try to keep them picked up and nice and tidy, but they always make a break for it.  So, if you are thinking about serging…beware of serger worms!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 7:40 am

    I’m always tempted to save “serger worms” and the bits of fabric that come off the serger. It seems like there should be some sort of fiber arts use for them.

    My serger is on the fritz right now – wah! I’m going to attempt to figure it out today.

  2. January 12, 2009 1:29 pm

    I started laughing when I saw this photo! I didnt even have to read the post to know what you were going to say.

    I just got a serger myself, and have the same problem. Please let me know if you find a solution 😉

  3. Viv permalink
    January 17, 2009 9:37 am

    I used a box (cereal box or something shorter), used the lid flap and slid under the machine at the edge of table for a catcher, now my “worms” fall into the box and not in the floor. Or you could make one out of fabric if you can figure an easy way to keep the bag open. The cardboard works for me and it was free….

Leave a Reply

