Skip to content

Fairy Vida

January 14, 2009

IMG_4636Vida is such a great pattern.  It makes a beautiful jumper dress, but is pretty easy to work up.  I knew almost immediately when I purchased the Tillbrook Fairy fabric from Fabric Worm that it was going to be made into this dress.  It didn’t take long to decide which fabrics that I wanted in which spots.  I wanted to dress it up a little, but since the fabric was so visually stimulating  I didn’t want to go overboard.  That’s when I looked through my embellishments drawer and pulled out a pretty cream colored lace trim.  I picked it up at Jo-Ann craft during a summer sale.  I’m so glad that I did because it matched perfectly. 

I also made a little pin for the jumper.  All I did was take some twill tape, run a basting stitch, ruffle it, and shape it into a flower.  Then, I stitched the flower in place, added a matching fabric covered button, sewed a pin to the back, and there you have it a cute fairy pin. 

Since the weather is cold, I really had to make pants for the jumper.  There was no way around it.  I used leftover brown cord from my Mika pants project.  I went back to the Portabello Pixie pattern.  The bottom ruffle is another Tillbrook print.  I added a little lace hem tape to make them even prettier.  I really like the little side bows with the buttons in the center.  I’m trying to add more embellishments to my projects to make them more my own.

You’ve heard this all before, but this is my new all-time favorite outfit.  It fits daughter perfectly in size and style.  I love the fabric, the pattern, and everything about it.

IMG_4606

IMG_4641

IMG_4610

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 3:15 am

    You really are quite an artist – what a pretty outfit! 🙂

  2. Glenda permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:15 am

    OHhhhhhh I would love it if you would do a sew-a-long to this pattern………….

  3. January 14, 2009 1:54 pm

    Very cute! Love the fabric!

  4. January 14, 2009 9:38 pm

    Adorable! I especially like the little flower pin and the way your use of the fabric.

  5. Teresa Pomerantz permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:57 pm

    Hi Wondermommy- your VIDA jumper you made is gorgeous! So I checked out the link- but it is all in a foreign language- is the pattern avail in english?

  6. Lou permalink
    January 18, 2009 1:42 pm

    Girlfriend. I wish we could sit down and chat over a cup of coffee…. So many times you and I have the SAME fabric for the SAME pattern…. It cracks me up… We must be soul sewing sistas! i do love your little flower pin! Precious!!!! The only difference in our Vida’s ist the mushrooms (I got the pink) and I did a different fabric on the sides. You do beautiful work!

  7. January 19, 2009 1:41 pm

    Oh you makes
    fantastic child mode as wonderful
    can I you for left
    thereby I your Blog any longer does not lose
    your Blog is wonderfully
    hopefully has the computer correctly translated
    my English is a disaster
    L.G Bax

  8. January 20, 2009 4:14 pm

    wow! great fabrics, great use. thanks for showing!

Leave a Reply

