Skip to content

Finally Quilting

January 16, 2009

img_4594

I’m finally taking the plunge.  I took my Woodland Bloom charm pack off of the shelf.  I laid the pieces out carefully, and I started to sew the pretty little blocks together.  I thought that if I was going to take the quilting plunge that I should start slowly.  This will be a little doll quilt for my daughter’s bitty twins, hopefully, anyway.  I’ll work on it again when I get back from vacation.  It was the last thing that I started before I left.  The top is pieced together, now, I have to decide how to quilt it.  Do I tie it, do a simple quilting, or go for it all and try free motion?  I practiced the free motion before I left…I think it needs a lot of work, but it might be worth going for it.  Let me know what you think.

img_4598

 

UPDATE

IMG_4963

IMG_4934

So, I wrote the above post and scheduled it.  I thought I wouldn’t get anything else crafted before I left, but being who I am I just couldn’t leave it alone.  I made another doll quilt top the same size as the one above, but in a different colorway.  I couldn’t leave the other bitty twin out…there are two of them after all.

Then, I decided to go ahead and give quilting it a whirl.  I used a low loft cotton batting.  I had to piece the backing because I only had 1/2 yard pieces of the fabric I wanted to use.  I used my chalk pencil and drew a simple leaf design.  I used adhesive spray to baste my quilt.  Then, I just went for it.  To bind, I just used a simple bias tape and machine stitched it in place.  I know that probably horrifies some of you quilter’s out there, but I’m just getting started and it is a doll quilt after all 🙂 .  

I think for my very first quilting effort this is a success.  I have to say that I’ve caught the quilting bug, and things may never be the same for me.  The biggest reason that I know this is a success is my daughter.  She has loved carrying her baby around in it.  Now, I just have to get the other one complete!

IMG_4907

IMG_4911

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 10:35 am

    They are fabulous!

  2. January 16, 2009 1:32 pm

    Oh, I think these are beautiful! Great job on your first quilt. I’m not a quilter so I don’t know a lot of the terms you used, but it looks interesting enough for me to find out more!

  3. January 17, 2009 3:51 am

    Oh my goodness. Its gorgeous. I can’t believe its your first time. I would love to quilt, but I don’t think mine would look like that (also I don’t hand sew) 🙂

  4. January 17, 2009 4:37 am

    Gasp! It’s absolutely beautiful! Love the bright cheery colors, and the fabric patterns are girly to boot! I’ve got to know what kind of chalk pencil you used to mark the leaf design for quilting. I’m really wanting to make a small quilt also.

  5. Dawn permalink
    January 17, 2009 3:01 pm

    I have two of the same charms packs that are destined to be my second quilt ever. Fun to see what it may look like – I love it! Now to get started…

  6. January 18, 2009 11:36 am

    love the colors in this quilt Mellissa!!!!!! Happy New Year my love…2009 is looking amazing for both of us!!!

  7. dixiemango permalink
    January 18, 2009 4:25 pm

    LOVE it! Way to go for your first or your 30th. Awesome! Love the leave design. I might have to try that on my next quilt.

Trackbacks

  1. Second Bitty Quilt « The Adventures of Wondermommy

Leave a Reply

