Skip to content

Rachel Birthday Dress

January 19, 2009

img_5024small

 

If you’ve looked at my Flickr photostream lately, you’ve seen this dress.  I made Sid a Farbenmix Rachel dress for her birthday.  I used 4 fabrics and by far this is the most festive thing that I’ve ever made.  It screamed birthday.  Starting last year, I decided to incorporate and S every year on her outfit.  I hand…machine appliqued it…if that makes any sense.  She loved it, and it has a ton of twirl potential.  All of the fabrics used in this dress were picked up from Fabric Hound during one of the Christmas sales.  It has a little Pop Garden, two different cupcake fabrics and a pretty dot my Lakehouse.  I also picked up that perfect cupcake ribbon from Fabric Hound.

The Rachel pattern was a bit of a challenge.  There are a ton of pieces and took a good bit of planning.  I made a couple of mistakes, but that is what a seam ripper is for.  I wouldn’t recommend this pattern for the beginner seamstress, but if you have experience sewing then you should give it a try.  The pattern is in German, but the sewing guide had a lot of good references.  I went with the long sleeves of course because it is cold out, but the short sleeve versions are just as cute.  This would make a good dress for Easter…it isn’t too early to start thinking about that. 

If you want to see more pictures, head on over and check out my flickr photostream.

IMG_5041

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 10:05 am

    Love this dress….and love your new blog design!!

  2. January 19, 2009 12:04 pm

    OH my goodness! Don’t let my girls see this…. I have three of them and they will all want mommy to make them one!

    Kudos!

  3. January 19, 2009 12:30 pm

    Super cute! I was reading Melissa Averinos’ blog the other day and did you know that that cupcake fabric was designed by her??

    Amy

    • January 19, 2009 12:37 pm

      Yes, I saw that…I didn’t know until I saw her post! I love that fabric!

  4. January 19, 2009 9:07 pm

    what a lucky little girl. really pretty and perfect for a birthday.

  5. Lou permalink
    January 20, 2009 10:56 pm

    What a precious dress (and girl)! Have you seen the new bolero jacket on YCMT??? Precious. I bought it, but I need to read the directions a few more times… It’s kinda confusing. When are you going to start selling your patterns??

  6. January 21, 2009 9:30 am

    I will be selling patterns in the next couple of months…hopefully. They are in development, and you would be amazed at how much work it is. They will definitely be out by mid-Spring!

  7. February 2, 2009 11:21 am

    Love this dress, really cute! I have this dress cut out and ready to sew for my granddaughter but am a little apprehensive about the pointed layer. How did you finish the hem on that section? Your’s looks really good!

Leave a Reply

