Skip to content

Second Bitty Quilt

January 24, 2009

 IMG_5439

You remember my first quilt.  Now, I’m going to show you my second quilt.  It is using that top that I showed you in the previous quilting post.  Let me get all of the particulars out of the way.  For the top, I just simply used Woodland Bloom charm squares.  I did 4 rows of 4.  This creates a square.  I used a 1/4″ seam allowance.  For the back I used larger pieces from half yard cuts, I’m sure you could use fat quarters too.  I just measured the top.  Then, added a couple of inches to that measurement to the top and bottom.  Then, I cut 4 large squares, that would equal the measurement.  I sewed them together using a 1/4″ seam allowance, and there was my quilt back.  I used cotton batting and cut this slightly smaller than the pieced backing.  I used spray adhesive made for quilting to baste the layers together.  To match centers of the top and bottom, I stuck a pin through the center and guided them to the proper place.  For this quilt, I decided to try a simple criss-cross pattern.  This meant I could begin and end the lines off of the quilt top.  You just simply run lines through the center of each square, creating a diagonal line.  Then, I bound the quilt using my machine and bias tape. I know this isn’t “proper”, but I’m just learning and it is just a doll quilt 🙂  I’ll learn proper binding later.  I took a shot of the bitty doll on the quilt so that you could see how large it was compared to the doll. 

 IMG_5443

IMG_5449

Now, I need to try actually making a larger quilt.  I’ll have the chance to do more quilting because I’ve joined, Project Improv.  I’m going to make a improvisational quilt block, blue and green, for charity.  And, I’m also going to be taking on an improvisational project…hopefully, I’ll be able to improvise and not just create a quilting disaster!  It isn’t too late to join the project.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2009 7:06 am

    Very nice! I love quilting…I just hate it when my piece bunch up and make a mess. The bigger they are the harder it is to keep them from doing that! haha

  2. January 24, 2009 11:34 am

    very cute! love the colors

  3. January 24, 2009 1:13 pm

    such a precious quilt!
    missy

  4. January 25, 2009 12:29 pm

    I love your doll quilt. I think your fabrics and colours are gorgeous. I just love pink and brown together. Can’t wait to see your inspirational quilt. Making a quilt is still on my to do list.

Leave a Reply

