Skip to content

There’s a Mess in My Nest

January 27, 2009

img_5463Yeppers, that’s right…I’ve got a big ‘ole mess going on in my craft room/office.  I haven’t been happy with how we laid out the furniture since we moved it, but it was put on the back burner.  I had lots of boxes to unpack and put away in the rest of the house.  I kept my sewing area clean and tidy until right before we went on vacation.  I knew I needed to gain super speed so that I had posts ready before we left.  I left the craft area in a super mess.  It isn’t even usable at the moment.

I’ve been working on rearranging the furniture as I tidy up.  Why not?  I had to do a lot of cleaning and putting away anyway, so I might as well rearrange for the best flow to the room.  Maybe when I get the room functional, I’ll be able to think about decorating it a little.  Although, the fabrics and patterns add a nice color to the area. 

I probably shouldn’t be moving big furniture when my hubby isn’t home, but if I keep waiting…it’ll never get done!  I haven’t even been able to get any crafts going to show you guys because of this mess.  Hopefully, I’ll get this cleaned up today and get started on making some things you’ll actually want to look at.  Just know, that if your craft room is a mess…you are not alone.  I finally decided that my biggest mess maker is that when I start thinking of my next projects, I pull patterns and fabric.  Then, I don’t put them back in a timely manner.  I’ve gotta work on that.  I need to get some storage bins for my current and upcoming projects so that they are kept tidy.  I also need a few curtain rods…not for curtains, but to hold fabrics that I’m thinking about using or finished projects.  We’ll see how all of this unfolds in the next few weeks.  If any of you out there could stop by to clean, that would be helpful also 🙂 

Oh, and I didn’t take any pictures of the walk-in closet in this room.  You would be horrified…it isn’t “walk-in” anymore.  No, it is not all craft stuff…my hubby has a good bit of his things in there, but I really should take care of my part of the tornado aftermath.

img_5470

img_5468

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 2:25 pm

    My husband always gets mad at me for moving heavy furniture around without him. But, I feel the same way. I don’t want to wait a week to move something I want moved now!

  2. January 27, 2009 2:39 pm

    Good luck on that tackle:-)

  3. Teresa Pomerantz permalink
    January 27, 2009 3:58 pm

    I can sympathize- my craftroom was a total mess until this weekend when I bought some of the ikea cube bookshelves and sorted out all my fabric.

  4. January 28, 2009 1:01 am

    I’m so jealous of your sewing room… I have a corner. I’m a new reader of yours and it seems like you have a lot of fun there. And I love the dress for the sew-along. Not sure I’m there yet – maybe in a few months. I’m relatively new to the crafty blogging. I mostly craft and then bore my friends with it.

Leave a Reply

