Skip to content

Last of the Vacation

January 28, 2009

I thought I would take today to show you the last of the vacation pictures.  I wish I had some craftiness to show you guys, but I’m dealing with a case of the flu.  So, all I’ve been doing is lying on the couch.  After I got halfway done with my craft room clean-up, I starting getting the aches.  Then, the sinus problems.  Then, everything else just came on quickly.  I promise soon you’ll have some more crafts to look at. 

The last three days of our vacation were spent at Universal.  We stayed in the Hard Rock Hotel.  It is a short walk to the parks.  The room was very nice.  The kids were excited to see their fave Nick characters.  Sid told me,”See, I told you there was a real Dora!”.  At the Islands of Adventure, there are a ton of super heroes, so my son was in heaven.  It was a really nice time.  It was good to have three days there.  We were able to take our time.  The kids liked the Dr. Seuss part of Islands of Adventure best.  My hubby and I really enjoyed the Blues Brothers show at Universal Studios, the Mummy ride, and the Simpsons ride.  The Simpsons ride is new.  They put it in where the Back to the Future ride was, and it is so much fun. 

Universal Studios has a new roller coaster going up and it is supposed to open this Spring.  Islands of Adventure has a new Harry Potter part of the park opening in 2010. That sounds really exciting. 

The cold snap hit as we started the Universal parks.  It was cold in FL just as it was in the rest of the country.  By Thursday, we were freezing.  The good thing is…there were no lines!  This works well with kids that don’t want to stand in lines anyway.  We also were able to use our room keys as express passes, so we were able to skip the lines that did exist.

I just wanted to say that I know there are many of you going through a tough economic time right now. And, I’m sorry for what you are going through. I know you wonder how my family could afford this vacation, and that may have prompted the ugly comment from the other day. I felt I needed to let you in on our secret. My husband was deployed to Afghanistan last year. We saved up during his deployment so that we could take this vacation. During a deployment, he makes extra money. That is simply how we did it. This was his second time deploying. He was in Iraq before that. I think we earned a vacation through what our family went through during this time. He means so much to us, and if not for his work for our freedom…we wouldn’t have been able to go. I’m praying for all of you out there that are struggling, and my family has tightened our belts, too. We are all feeling the difficult times.

So, on with the pictures:

IMG_1163

IMG_1158

IMG_1150

IMG_1147

IMG_1127

IMG_1111

IMG_1084

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Teresa Pomerantz permalink
    January 28, 2009 10:53 am

    you do not have to explain yourself girl! You earned your vacation and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I have really enjoyed the pictures and story- and yes I like the crafts but what I really like is just reading what is happening lately- if it doesn’t happen to have been crafts? Then So What- your still a rock star 🙂
    Besides, just because I didn’t get to go to Disney doesn’t mean I am not living vicariously.

  2. January 28, 2009 11:53 am

    You are just too sweet! I’m glad you like seeing what we’ve been doing. I guess I’m still a little on the defensive.

    Thanks so much!

  3. January 28, 2009 12:22 pm

    You deserve it girl!!!! Any many thanks to your husband for defending us! We are going in June but wouldn’t be going if it wasn’t for my parents using there timeshare for the rooms. Hope you are feeling better!!! Stay warm the cold is headed your way!

  4. January 28, 2009 6:26 pm

    You certainly don’t owe any excuses or explainations to anyone! 🙂 I think it’s great that you took that time for your family! I love seeing the pictures as we’ve never been, but hope to go one day so it’s neat to see all that is there!
    Thank your husband for his service!

Leave a Reply

