Skip to content

Improv Quilting

January 29, 2009

I started my first Project Improv block.  I’m in the blue/green group.  I wanted to do something a little different.  I’m a bigger fan of lime greens rather than green greens.  I’m just not sure that I like the fabric combinations… I might have went overboard.  I may redo this one.  Use some of the same fabrics, but less of them.  I don’t know.  I like it, but it has to be able to go with other blocks from the blue/green group and fit into a quilt.  HMMM….it is fun, but not everyone likes that many patterns together in one space, and I’m not sure that it is reading as blue/green.  The yellow is coming across strongly.  Maybe, I just shouldn’t be putting together improv blocks when I have the flu and am on medication 🙂  It is for charity and I want it to be some of my best work…not just so so.  I think this block will find another home in another project.  Other than the fabrics used, I think the construction went rather well.  I didn’t really think at all…just cut rectangles and started sewing them together log cabin style.  It has that cool off set look…I do know that I like that.

 

img_5475

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ksess permalink
    January 29, 2009 10:26 am

    I like the off set look too, but I think your right about the yellow overshadowing the blue/green. Maybe if you just change the center fabric out it would read less yellow. But I like all the fabrics. I’m excited to see how this goes. Looks like a good start.

  2. January 29, 2009 11:09 am

    I like it! 🙂

  3. January 29, 2009 3:20 pm

    You’re doing great with your quilting! I like this one, but then again, I’m picturing the whole quilt looking funky and bright and wild – and I LOVE that! I loved the baby quilts too – very nicely done! (Makes me want a girl so I can sew doll quilts for them :-P)

Leave a Reply

