Skip to content

Improv Block Take 2

January 30, 2009

IMG_5490

Well, here is take two.  I think this block is much more successful than the last.  The only thing is that I don’t like the small lines on the sides…I should have made a thicker line.  I do, however, think the fabric choices worked better this time.  I repeated some of the fabrics to give the block a more cohesive look.  I also pieced some of the strips for more effect.  I don’t think I’ll be able to stop with this free form sewing, and since it is for charity…I’ll just have to sew more of these.  Maybe, I’ll even do a couple for the other color groups.  I have until April to ship these.  If you want to know what fabrics I used….there are a lot in there.  I have Garden Party, Nest, Farmer’s Market, Bell Bottoms, and a small sampling of a fat quarter from Jo-Ann Craft.  I really wish I had purchased more Garden Party and Nest fabrics…I might have to remedy that 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ksess permalink
    January 31, 2009 7:41 pm

    Really like this block. I like that you repeated some of the fabrics within the block. Looks great!

    • January 31, 2009 9:46 pm

      Thanks…I think it made it look more cohesive and the blue/green theme shows better.

  2. dixiemango permalink
    February 1, 2009 10:07 pm

    OOOh, I love it. Great fabrics.

  3. February 2, 2009 7:19 pm

    That looks great! I need to finish my charity block still..I think I might take the last piece I added off…though I’m not sure seam ripping is really in the spirit of improv. 🙂

Leave a Reply

