Skip to content

Meet Silly Frilly Kids

February 2, 2009

PhotobucketBefore we left for vacation, I looked and looked for some super cute hair clippies that Sid could wear.  I found them and for a terrific price!  Silly Frilly Kids on Etsy.  Let me tell you, Kerrie not only ships fast and is super friendly…she does amazing work.  I asked her to let us get to know her a little better, and here is her interview.

 

1-       Introduce Yourself (just give us a little background about who you are)
Hi Everyone, so pleased to meet you!  I’m Kerrie and I’m the designer behind Silly Frilly Kids, but my main job is homeschooling mommy to 7 dear ones who range in age from 2 to 19! 
My hubbie and I have been together since high school and we all make our home in the lovely suburbs of Philadelphia, PA.  
I also adore animals and we have tons of pets.  I’ll never be able to advertise that my creations come from a “pet free home” but I am really careful to make sure no fur gets stuck in the hot glue. 😉
 
2-       What made you decide to go into the bow business?

I actually started out in the boutique world as a clothing designer.  I’d been making a few bows to match my outfits, then two years ago we built a new house. 
My realtor insisted I pack away my sewing machines and fabric stash while we showed and sold our old home but I hung on to a small box of ribbon and that came along with me to the new house, while my sewing supplies were still in storage.  When I started making hair clippies they really took off and since then I’ve been so busy as a bow maker I don’t have much time to sew! 
 
3 – How long have you been making bows?
I’ve been making them for about 4 years, but I think I’ve only been good at it for maybe two!

Photobucket
 
4 – Do you do any other crafts?  If so, what are they and what is your favorite?
Oh yes – I do – way too many! LOL! 
Of course sewing is my other great love. I really enjoy clay sculpting and wish I had more time to do it – I occasionally make my own bow centers and beads.  I like to make jewelry – love anything with bling!
I knit a little too, I like to make socks for my little ones but I don’t think you’ll see any Silly Frilly Socks for sale any time soon – as much as fun as I have with them I’m a horribly slow knitter. It’s sad really, it takes me about a month per sock. 
 
5 – Do you have any other future business plans?
I’d definitely like to get back to more boutique sewing again, and I’m also planning to add more actual bows to go with the character clips.   

 
6 – Do you have a blog?
I do, sort of.  I’m so weary by the time I sit down at my computer most evenings that if I had anything interesting to say I’ve usually forgotten it, so I never write in my blog!
I do occasionally Tweet though, http://twitter.com/SillyFrillyKids  Twitter is great, it works in the small bits of time I find myself with during my crazy days. 🙂
 
Photobucket7- If there is anything else you would like to say, now is your chance! 

I have to say that Silly Frilly Kids has the most AWESOME customers!  Everyone I’ve met on Etsy, eBay and through my website has been so wonderful, and the kind comments about my work are enough to make my head swell. 
I love being able to stay home and teach my children, and this little extra income has been so helpful to our family.  I can’t thank everyone who purchases my creations enough, you are all blessings!   Thanks so much for letting me express my appreciation to you all Melissa. 

Thanks so much Kerrie for you wonderful interview!  I love your clippies and can’t wait to see what you make in the future. Now, head on over and check out her clippies.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 8:45 pm

    Wow! those are absoulutely adorable!

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

