Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day

February 13, 2009

I know that I’m wishing you this a day early, but I won’t be blogging this weekend.  I hope your V-day is filled with love.

IMG_5808I used a pattern that I found at the Fat Quarter Shop.  When I saw it, I knew this was my big vday project.  I just couldn’t resist.  The pattern is #408 This Takes the Cake by Pieces from my Heart.  It is a small quilt about 21″ X 28.25″.   It worked up really quickly, and as you know I’m knew to quilting, but I managed to make this…so it can’t be too hard 🙂

It uses Candy Kisses fabric by Moda.  You’ll need one charm pack , 1/4 yd. of a stripe fabric, and 3/4 yd. from backing and extras. 

This is obviously a vday quilt, but I think it could be used to make great birthday presents.  You just change the fabric out, and you’ve got a custom birthday quilt. 

I actually hand sewed all of the binding on this time.  I hated every minute of it, but it was well worth it.  I also learned how to attach continuous binding and all of the issues that can result from that.  I had the binding pull away from the stitching in a couple of spots.  This taught me to make sure that my stitching catches all of the binding before starting the hand sewing.

I’m proud of the quilt overall.  I think it is a good third quilting project.  I’m slowly moving toward larger and larger quilts.  I almost forget to mention the method of quilting that I did.  I stitched in the ditch between the rows on the main piece of the quilt.  I didn’t want the quilting to interfere with the cake image.  I quilted on the border a decorative heart stitch that was on my machine.  I would give a close-up, but I’m not that proud of that stitching either 🙂

Have a Happy Valentine’s! 

**Those of you that have offered to test my patterns, I’m not ignoring you.  When they are in, I will make decisions about who I’m going to get to test them.  Thanks for the offers, and I’ll let you know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 11:34 am

    This is so pretty. I am in awe of everything you are showing!

  2. February 13, 2009 1:35 pm

    Very, very cute!!! Thanks for sharing your picture. I am working on a quilt now with the Moda Flirtations charm pack.

    I hate to do the binding by hand too so I now sew it to the front of the quilt then flip it to the back and sew it down with the machine, using a decorative stitch lol.

Leave a Reply

