Skip to content

Happy 70th!

February 20, 2009

100-0039_img

You probably haven’t noticed, but I’m away.  I’m away this week visiting with my Granny, she is 70 years young today.  I have enjoyed every moment that we have shared together as I’ve grown up. I was lucky to have her in my life.  I was also lucky enough to know her mother…not many get to know their great-grannies.  

My Granny quit her job to stay at home and keep her grandchildren during the day.  This has always meant so much to each one of us.  We had someone at home who loved us and was waiting with open arms at the end of the school day.  I’m sharing a picture, even though, I know she’ll hate it…so let’s keep it quiet. The picture is of her and my son after he was first born.  The gentle man is my grandfather that passed a few years ago due to Cancer.

 She taught us all so much and she is one of the reasons that I learned to sew. The most important thing she taught me was to love my children with all my heart the way she loved hers and her grandchildren.  I’ll just end by saying, I love you Granny and Happy Birthday. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 4:41 am

    What a lovely Granny to help out like that! Enjoy your visiting!

  2. February 20, 2009 8:19 am

    It would be a perfect world if more grannies got to stay home with the kids. I wouldn’t think twice about working after the kids were in school if I had that option! What a gift you had!

  3. February 20, 2009 2:02 pm

    Happy Birthday, Granny!
    Both of my grandmothers have long since passed (1986 and 1997). There is hardly a day that goes by that I don’t think of them…..
    I miss having grandparents! Hope your granny has a great day!

  4. February 22, 2009 10:26 pm

    Sweet post. My grandmother passed away 12 years ago and I still miss her dearly. She also didn’t like her photo taken, but, just like your grandmother she was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

