Skip to content

Twilight

March 31, 2009

twilight1I have put and put off reading Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.  I’m not much for reading pulp fiction.  I usually grab old, classic sci-fi from my shelves, or I reach for cyberpunk or just old classic literature.  I’m so glad that I finally decided to give this novel a chance.  I read through it in two days…most of it in the first.  I just couldn’t put it down.

The words flow easily off of the page, the images jump quickly into your mind, and before you know it you are enthralled with Forks and all of its characters.  Not since I read of the love between Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy, have I been so completely caught up in a love story.

I highly recommend you give this book a try even if it isn’t your normal cup of tea.  You won’t be disappointed.  I’m currently, desperately trying to find time in my day to pick up the next volume or maybe the rest of the series.  I don’t want to have to wait after the others 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 2:04 pm

    Twilight is amazing isn’t it?!
    I am re-reading it now. I read the first book in a couple days as well.. with a newborn! lol. Wait until you read the last one… it is wonderful! Happy reading!

  2. March 31, 2009 2:21 pm

    I made fun of the series. Swore I wouldn’t read them. My sister asked me to just read the first 10 pages… then I was done with the first book the first day. And the second book the second day. Finished the series in a week! Couldn’t stop! The second book not my favorite… loved the first the best and the fourth is a close tie. Great story.

  3. March 31, 2009 2:26 pm

    I am right there with you- I bought it to see what the fuss was about- the next day I was out to go buy the rest of the series. I love it! The movie was okay- but the books rock!

  4. March 31, 2009 4:04 pm

    How spooky – I started reading this before bed last night. i must admit I’m gripped so far!

  5. March 31, 2009 4:10 pm

    I’m sure Stephenie Meyer would love what you’ve written here. I hope she finds this blog.

  6. March 31, 2009 5:22 pm

    I have just read all our in the last week!!!! I wanted to read them before the movie came out on DVD, so I gave it a go and fell in love lol So now Im jigging in my seat waiting for Monday when its released here in England 🙂

  7. April 1, 2009 12:20 am

    LOL!! Okay so I received Twilight, and New Moon Friday..I was done with both by Monday 🙂 Now I am reading Eclipse, and also Purchased Breaking Dawn. I live the way you can feel every emotion..I have cried reading the first 2. I can’t put the books down…LOVE THEM!!

  8. April 1, 2009 2:08 am

    Haha, I’m a fan of Sci-Fi and Cyberpunk too. Haven’t read Twilight yet, but I might just have to give it a try!

  9. April 1, 2009 10:43 am

    Okay, maybe I’m just an old fuddy duddy, but I’m here to give a different opinion! (That’s what makes the world go ’round, right?!) I read the first 2 books and could not bring myself to read the last 2, and here’s why….. 1. I thought the subject matter was very disturbing, and it gave me weird, bad dreams. 2. I think the whole love story between Edward and Bella is ridiculous. He is posessive and she is dependent, and it is just an unhealthy way to present a relationship to teenage girls, the target audience. Can you imagine your teenage daughter reading this and expecting love to be like this?!! I would not let my daughter read it. Now, for adults, who can differentiate between real life and fantasy, it’s probably good for entertainment. I will agree that the books were well written and gripping! Now, don’t flog me, just putting a different opinion out there…. it’s probably interesting to find that someone out there is not totally enamoured with this book series.:) ~Lori

  10. April 1, 2009 12:17 pm

    I think it is great you have your own opinion. I haven’t read the other books yet, so I can only comment on the first one.

    As far as letting teenagers read it, I hope I instill in my kids that it is just fiction and read it as such. I want them to experience books of all different types and draw their own conclusions on life. I agree that some books are not for those that are less mature, but it never hurts anyone to daydream and use their imaginations.

    I want my daughter and son to learn the basic moral principles of life from my husband and myself, and I hope that they go forth in the world able to make good stable choices. I don’t think it hurts anyone to experience things different from their own way of life.

    I would never let my children read a book without talking it over with them anyway, and we could explore the things wrong and right with what an author has set forth.

    I would much rather my children( when they are old enough) read a book like this than watch most of the things on Television these days.

    But, every parent in entitled to their own belief these are just mine. I don’t think everyone should love these books. I like plenty of things that others don’t. And, I”m glad that you shared your opinion with us.

    Just one more thing…I don’t think it is totally wrong to be dependent on someone. I think that is what marriage is for both the man and the woman. They are dependent on each other at times and both possessive at times. I think Edward is just as dependent on Bella in a lot of ways. He depends on her for humanity and love. This is just my opinion.

    Thanks for sharing again. It is good to have a book discussion with someone….talking to my kids all day makes me wonder if I’m still capable of thought sometimes 🙂

Leave a Reply

