Skip to content

My Fabrics

April 9, 2009

I’ve been a member of Spoonflower for a long time, but it has taken me awhile to design some fabrics that I actually wanted to print.  I had my first fat quarters made and sent about a week ago.  Here’s a little peak at them:

IMG_6233small

This is by far my favorite.  I love its simplicity.  It has a kind of Japanese Sumi feel.  I drew the flower on my new wacom tablet and then repeated using my Artlandia plug-in in Photoshop.

IMG_6234small

IMG_6245small

This is a fun print.  It was inspired by my daughter and her third birthday.  I had been playing around with S’s and 3’s.  If you look closely at the squiggle, it is and S with a 3 on the bottom.  I manipulated it into the pattern in photoshop. It is hard to tell but the background is a polka dot.  It is fun and feels a little bit country to me.

IMG_6238small

IMG_6244small

This is the result of chopping up scroll work in Photoshop.  I’ve had a hard time drawing scrolls.  They aren’t as easy as they look.  I like the colors in this fabric. The photos do not do it justice.  The blue with sea green scroll work and a turquoise embellishment. 

IMG_6242small

IMG_6243small

I think for my first attempts…these are great!  I hope to keep designing fabrics…maybe someday I’ll even get them picked up by a manufacturer, but I’m not holding my breath.

If you are thinking about designing fabric, I highly recommend Spoonflower.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. dixiemango permalink
    April 9, 2009 2:59 pm

    Great job. I love the first one best too!

  2. April 9, 2009 8:51 pm

    I love the 1st fabric too. Fabulous job. And that you can make 3’s and S’s into a pattern – so fun! That should be taught in school – once you learn to write you can create fabric! Love it!

  3. April 10, 2009 12:18 pm

    I don’t usually comment, but I had to come say that I love your fabrics!! Very pretty and very fun. I really like all 3. And I really love the colors in #3.

  4. April 14, 2009 2:48 pm

    Very nice!! I hope to design my own thru spoonflower too, just have to find the TIME!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Pages tagged "repeated"

Leave a Reply

