Skip to content

Back to Sewing…

April 22, 2009

img_6743smallI’m finally back to sewing.  Hubby went back to work yesterday.  I have a half completed Frida that I hope to show to you this week.  Really, really cute!  But, I’m sharing a creepy doll today.  I’m working on our next sew-a-long…the doll.  This is my first take.  First, her face is way too large and not cute 🙂  I also need to make her head a little bigger.  But, I think the body came out great, so that is at least something.  I also wanted to show all of you out there that I make a ton of mistakes; I just don’t always share them.  Perfection is an illusion.  I’ve had to learn that lesson to be able to sew anything or my perfectionism would stop me from doing any of my hobbies.  I promise when we do the sew-a-long…the doll will look a lot better than this one. 

I’ve also gotten a ton done on the skants pattern!  That means I need testers.  So, leave a comment here and I’ll randomly select a couple of you in the next couple of weeks to test sew my pattern!!! Yippee!!!  I’m so glad that it is almost done.

All I know is that I’m so happy to be sewing again…it has been too long!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 11:17 am

    hey,
    I would love to test your pattern!

    I think it’s good to show our mistakes, it’s all part of the process.

  2. April 22, 2009 11:27 am

    Ill help test a pattern 🙂
    Karen

  3. April 22, 2009 12:46 pm

    I’ve never tested a pattern before, what does it entail?

  4. Nicole permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:28 pm

    Thanks for showing your imperfections to the world. 🙂 I am a mommy of a 2 1/2 yr old and looove to sew her clothes. I would love to be a tester for your new pattern. How fun!

  5. April 22, 2009 1:45 pm

    I’ll test for you if you still need someone!

  6. April 22, 2009 1:56 pm

    It would entail simply sewing up my pattern using my instructions to make sure they are right and easy to follow. It would also help make sure the pieces fit right. And, you get the pattern first and free 🙂

  7. April 22, 2009 2:25 pm

    I’ve done the creepy big faced cloth doll thing more times than I want to admit! It looks just fine on the flat fabric, but not in 3D – LOL! You are right, the body is very cute!

  8. dixiemango permalink
    April 22, 2009 2:42 pm

    Oh, pick me, pick me! I love the doll. I can’t wait to play along.

  9. April 22, 2009 4:06 pm

    A tester – oooohhh – pick me! My girls would love to wear your skants.

  10. April 22, 2009 4:29 pm

    “Perfection is an illusion”. You nailed it, that’s exactly how I feel.

    Too bad I live in Germany. I’d love to test-sew your new pattern.

    – Chris

  11. Susan permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:36 pm

    I would love to help test a pattern.

  12. April 23, 2009 12:14 am

    I have several really cute great-grandbabies that I sew for – would love to try the scant (especially for the tom boys).

  13. Wendy permalink
    April 23, 2009 11:38 am

    I’m not sure what skants are, but they sound very cute. I’m always up for an andventure!

  14. April 23, 2009 1:09 pm

    I would love to be a tester! I will be finished with the Dream Dress by Friday and will be eager for a new pattern to try. I love your site! And I am glad you had a fun birthday. It sounds perfect!

Leave a Reply

