Skip to content

Flower Power Frida

April 23, 2009

IMG_6790I love this pattern by ModKid.  Frida works up so quickly and the result is beautiful and functional.  I usedJennifer Paganelli’s gorgeous Flower Power fabric in Elizabeth Rose in pink and Loopy Vintage Floral in blue.  The fabrics are as always perfect!  They are feminine and soft with that bit of zest that everyone loves.

The pattern worked up really quickly and easily.  The instructions were right on and easy to follow.  Patty did a great job detailing every step and including the right pictures and diagrams. 

I opted to make the dress version, but there is also a top version.  I made the flared sleeves, but there is an option to add elastic to the sleeves to make them capped.  In the design examples three fabrics were used, but I opted to use two instead.   You can definitely make this tunic your own as there are many options available.

IMG_6812

I did a couple of things differently than the instructions.  First, instead of sewing the skirt side seams and then, finishing the edges, I ran each edge under the serger and then, sewed them together.  This made things much easier than the instructions’ way. 

I also always have a hard time sewing small ties or straps on my machine.  The feed dogs don’t want to catch them.  A good trick is to use tear away stabilizer.  Just put the strap or tie on top of the piece and stitch.  This give the item more area for the feed dogs to catch on to.  Then, you simply tear it away when you are done!  That simple!

I made one other modification to the pattern.  I didn’t have enough fabric at the end to make the 13 inch square for the head scarf.  So, I sewed together 3, 5 inch strips using a 1/2 ” seam allowance, topstitched them in place, and used that as my square.  It worked out well.  I love having more than one fabric in the scarf.

I will definitely be using this pattern again.  I love it!  This is my new favorite creation of all time.  The combination of the fabric and the pattern really worked out well.  This pattern is great for hot summers as it has a lot of breathing room.  It would also make a great bathing suit cover-up.

IMG_6807

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 1:11 pm

    Oh MY! This dress is just gorgeous! The fabric combo is so gentle and beautiful. And I love how you did the strippy scarf. It looks darling and your girly is adorable in her beautiful outfit.

  2. April 23, 2009 1:19 pm

    LOVE this!! Jennifer’s fabric is just gorgeous for this dress!! So cute 🙂

  3. April 23, 2009 5:54 pm

    Gorgeous!!! So perfect for your sweet little daughter!

  4. Pat permalink
    April 23, 2009 11:52 pm

    Lovely! You picked the perfect fabric combo and your daughter couldn’t be sweeter!!! Thanks for sharing….

  5. April 24, 2009 9:48 pm

    gorgeous!! Off to buy the pattern 🙂

  6. April 25, 2009 1:44 pm

    It’s beautiful. I like the addition of the second fabric in the headscarf…it was a fortunate accident! Now, does your daughter actually keep it on her head for you? The fabrics are beautiful for a little girl’s dress.

Leave a Reply

